We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find but comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conwell Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Conwell Inn to your Saves list
Conwell Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1331 Polett Walk (was West Berks Street), Philadelphia, PA 19122   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hard to find but comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Small hotel, around a corner besides Temple Univ, very hard to find. Small lobby but decorated like typical old fashioned European living room. The room is very comfortable. Nice breakfast (the "restaurant" is the lobby though). Walking distance to the subway station.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    70
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
50
35
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stayed here a year ago and again this year. It is convenient for visiting Temple. I was disappointed when I went down for breakfast the first morning that they no longer offer breakfast. I had counted on it and thought I was paying for it.

Then in our last morning, we awoke to a lot of noise in the hall. (I think it was 7:30 am). My son was not feeling well and we had planned a quiet morning before leaving for the train but ended up leaving early. It turned out they were ripping out the carpet in all the rooms on our floor. In addition to the noise, the elevator was bring used by the workman so it took a long time to come and it was dirty. I did not feel it was a good value, but the fresh carpeting will be a plus for anyone who stays there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The room itself was disappointing and dreary, the bedding was horrible! The pull out sofa was so uncomfortable that my daughter slept in the floor! When we contacted the front desk we were told the hotel was fully booked and they would contact a manger which they never did or if they did, he or she didn't care because I never heard from them.
The breakfast was almost non-existent. Three very basic and bland cereals, bread for toast, orange juice and coffee.
Another complaint was being woken up at two AM from student partiers.
Overall, for the price paid, I expected a much nicer room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Maryland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel was very convenient because we were attending an athletic event on the campus. The only negative thing I really have to share is about the bathtub/shower. The shower head was horrible and looked dirty and there was mildew around the tub/shower wall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time in Philly and I was a bit worried about the crime levels there. But this hotel is in such a beautiful part of town. Sure it's in temple university but that's what made it so safe and beautiful. Temple has tons of police on duty and the historical buildings were a great view. The free breakfast wasn't the greatest. We ended up walking to dunkin donuts one morning and subway another. But other than that the inn is a great place to just relax.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was accommodated here as a guest of Temple University who kindly footed the bill. It's not a big place but straightforward to find. I was allocated a King suite which had a reasonably-sized bedroom with a bathroom to one side and a sitting room to the other. Despite a number of windows, the whole suite felt dark although the appalling weather sweeping through Philly didn't help. The room was comfortable, the staff were efficient and friendly and the location was great for the university. The breakfast was adequate but all rather disposable - it's all self-service and rather limited. The bed had a blanket rather than a duvet and the bath was an old-fashioned shallow affair. Would I stay here if I wasn't visiting Temple? Probably not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Conwell Inn on Temple University campus and loved it. The hotel room was spacious and very nicely appointed, the staff were very helpful and cheerful, and the location couldn't be beat. There are a number of low-cost restaurants nearby. We had to drive to get to a restaurant with "atmosphere," but Temple is so close to downtown that the drive wasn't a big deal. The hotel parking is right behind the hotel, and for an extra $15/night, was well worth the security of having our car close and not on the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conwell Inn

Address: 1331 Polett Walk (was West Berks Street), Philadelphia, PA 19122
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Conwell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conwell Inn is a charming, boutique hotel, comprised of period style guest rooms, each reflecting our quaint, Victorian-style while hosting an abundance of complimentary services including free high-speed internet, free “Fresh Start” Breakfast, free afternoon tea and cookies and a complimentary copy of our local newspaper. The Conwell Inn offers all the luxury of a "big-chain" hotel with the ambiance of a boutique inn. Known for our exemplary customer service, we pride ourselves on offering the highest quality services available. The next time you visit this marvelous city, let The Conwell Inn become your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Conwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conwell Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conwell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.