We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay on Temple Campus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conwell Inn

Save Saved
You added Conwell Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conwell Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1331 Polett Walk (was West Berks Street), Philadelphia, PA 19122   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great stay on Temple Campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Conwell Inn is located on the main campus of Temple University and very convenient if you have business on campus or need to be in that area of town.

The Inn is a short walk to the train line (which services the airport) and a subway station. It is adjacent to a coffee shop with pasteries. There is also a convenience store and restaurant/bar within a short walk as well as food trucks around campus.

A light breakfast is available in the morning. Fresh fruit is available all day. And fresh-baked cookies are available in the afternoon.

The front desk is often staffed by students but they are helpful and knowledgeable as well as responsive when the need arises. There is a business center in the lobby as well as tables where it's easy to meet with others.

The hotel is an older building so the bathrooms are not spacious but they are adequate. A vent fan comes on when the lights are turned on in the bathroom and that could be quieter. Also, there are no laundry facilities in the hotel which is inconvenient if you are there for an extended stay.

Parking at the hotel is limited to a handful of paid spaces, but worth the money for the convenience. Also being on campus and in an old building you sometimes encounter noises from people on campus late at night.

If you need to be in the Temple vicinity, the Conwell Inn is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    60
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
48
27
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We loved our stay at the Conwell Inn! We took a chance on this little out-of-the-way hotel based on reviews we'd read on a travel site. It was a great location: two blocks from the SEPTA, safe for walking about at all hours, and just a minute's walk from some groovy carry-out restaurants. Tons of food trucks were in the area too, so we ate really well each night!
The staff was super-nice and professional. They helped us make decisions about transportation, timing of public transportation for events, return to the airport, etc. (We were in town for the Peter Gabriel concert at the Wells-Fargo Center.)
We enjoyed both the complimentary coffee bar downstairs and the coffee shop on the premises. The breakfast offering was a little too limited for our tastes, so we patronized the coffee shop for that (but we gladly ate cookies and apples that the hotel provided in the lobby).
If we go back to that area of Philly, we'll definitely stay at the Conwell again. (We even bought four of their logo mugs to remember it by.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Despite the fact that weekend staff was not top notch in service, it was a good place to stay. Literally on the campus of Temple University, you might think it's closed to outsiders, but it's not. It's even pet friendly. Bathroom was huge with a Jacuzzi tub plus breakfast. Parking was a bit of a headache being about 2 blocks away. Sat night we were awaken to a routy bunch who just left the bar around the corner. Front desk was not accommodating when we called to complain about the noise and only would call police upon our suggestion. I suppose you can only expect student employees to undergo limited, if any training to provide great service.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nice small hotel. great staff who try to make your stay as easy as possible. great cookies in the afternoon, weak breakfast. Parking available, but not great, really small spaces in an alley behind the hotel. if driving there use your smallest vehicle. Right in the middle of temple univ. really only reason to stay here would be to visit someone attending school or if you had business on campus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

When visiting Temple University, this is a great convenience. Literally on campus, with a few eateries (college type, not fancy) yards away. The price is good, and the staff tries to make your stay pleasant. They have large rooms and comforable beds, the bathrooms leave a bit to be desired but still acceptable. Not a luxury hotel at all, but clean and comfortable, and the location makes up for it.

They include a fairly basic breakfast but also provide a $5 coupon for the coffee shop next door, which has mostly just coffee but also a few pastries.

While I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you are not going to Temple University, I highly recommend it if you are.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Excellent small hotel in the center of Temple Campus university in Philadelphia. Quiet, clean, confortable, safe. Easy access from town center ( 8 minutes by subway, station at 200 yards) and from airport ( 40 minutes by direct train, station at 400 yards). Nice staff. Grand room and grand bathroom. During the day some noise in the street by the students but no noise at all after 9PM ( perhaps because the police station of the campus is next door!!). I stay there one week at the end of august 2012. I recomand it without any doubt

Room Tip: I was in romm 306, a very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Large and clean rooms and bathroom. The location is also very good (it is the only hotel inside Temple Univ). Cookies and fresh coffee from 3 to 6 pm was a nice surprise. The only issue was the wifi internet connection, that is usually too slow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Conwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conwell Inn

Address: 1331 Polett Walk (was West Berks Street), Philadelphia, PA 19122
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Conwell Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conwell Inn is a charming, boutique hotel, comprised of period style guest rooms, each reflecting our quaint, Victorian-style while hosting an abundance of complimentary services including free high-speed internet, free “Fresh Start” Breakfast, free afternoon tea and cookies and a complimentary copy of our local newspaper. The Conwell Inn offers all the luxury of a "big-chain" hotel with the ambiance of a boutique inn. Known for our exemplary customer service, we pride ourselves on offering the highest quality services available. The next time you visit this marvelous city, let The Conwell Inn become your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Conwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conwell Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conwell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.