We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Inn at Penn to your Saves list
Hilton Inn at Penn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 Sansom Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Unbeatable PKG From $149
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florence, MT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here for a week while I was taking a class at Penn...so convenient to everything! Walking distance to great restaurants and activities. Plus, the rooms are really quite nice and so high tech! I just loved that in order to keep the lights on in your room, you insert your room key into a box on the wall. I did have a bit of trouble keeping it cool enough in my room when temps hit 85 in April, but other than that, it was a terrific stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    209
    42
    13
    5
See reviews for
227
110
55
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed with out kids for a visit at the Inn at Penn. It is a great location to visit the University, close to everything including the admissions office. The hotel itself is nice, with a good gym and a very, very good breakfast. The rooms are quite nice also and the beds comfortable.
What really stood out was the staff. They were exceedingly friendly and helpful. As good as anywhere I have seen. I don't know her name, but the concierge was made for that job - always smiling and always helpful.
It is a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is the most unique Hilton we have experienced. Right on the Penn campus in University City, one feels as if one is staying at a cozy-sized, plush mansion. Attractive lobby, wonderful lounge and breakfast area, comfortable yet elegantly finished rooms. Convenient to restaurants and shopping. Pleasant and helpful front desk staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our vehicle was "keyed" while in the care of Hilton. The facilities were very nice, but I would not stay there again as our claim was denied. According to them there was no proof the damage happened during our stay. I would not recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreg, General Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for being our guest. While I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, I am sorry about the damage that occurred to your vehicle while in our parking operator's care. I have reviewed the incident with our parking manager and I have instructed him to pay your claim. Like most hotels, we do not manage our parking operation directly, so I was unaware of the damage to your vehicle or that your claim had been denied. I wish you had made me aware of the matter rather than using this forum to voice your frustration. However, ultimately what is most important is that we correct the problem. Please contact me if you have not heard from our parking manager by the end of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, with excellent service. Very stately and dignified - large library style common area with fireplace and nice seating. Breakfast buffet is wonderful, although not included and a little pricey. The rooms are updated - very clean and comfortable with a nice TV and IPADs for ordering room service, etc. The location can't be beat for visiting Penn - front and rear entrances on Walnut St and Sanson St. The campus of U Penn is so beautiful, and this hotel compliments the visit nicely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreg, General Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for being our guest. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is located near a wonderful little street full of night time activity that includes an oyster bar and a fun little Irish pub! All of the hotel staff were very cordial and helpful. Everything about the room was spectacular!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreg, General Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We're please to hear that you enjoyed stay and we look forward to seeing again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel and the perfect location for visiting Penn. The main campus is right across the street. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and in good condition. Service was fine. Breakfast buffet was nothing special, but not bad either. Would stay again if coming to Penn.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Address: 3600 Sansom Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Inn at Penn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.