We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location/Bad Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Save Saved
You added Hilton Inn at Penn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 Sansom Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Philly Overnight Pkg
Ranked #4 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Location/Bad Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Inn at Penn is one of Philly's upscale hotels. Using points for the two-day stay, we were given a room that was smaller than those represented by the photos. It was still a very nice room, with WiFi, an iPad and a fridge (that didn't work). The bed and bedding was as comfortable as at home, and more importantly, the heating/cooling was central with a digital controller. No loud and irritating wall unit. The large, flat-screen TV with DirecTV programming had a record function and an HDMI cable for connecting to your laptop. There was also a box of different connectors available on the nightstand for every type of connection you might desire.

The service from the staff was impeccable, although they were so concerned about us having fresh towels that housekeeping called the room when we had the "do not disturb" sign displayed. Basically, if you want to be fussed over, the Inn at Penn is the place to stay.

As other reviews have mentioned, the location is 15 min taxi ride from city center at peak traffic times (but 15 min/$29 flat fee by cab to the airport at 6 AM). If you want to stroll around downtown Philly, this location is not optimum. If you are driving, parking is limited, hence the ~$34/day, valet parking fee. We turned in our rental car at the train station at 30th/Market and had a free drop-off at the hotel, as they are fairly close. I didn't get the feeling that drop-offs by the car rental company are done on a regular basis.

Being essentially located within the U Penn/Drexell complex, restaurant availability was not an issue. These kids eat (and drink) pretty well. There are a variety of good restaurants within a few blocks radius, even a few upscale ones. There is a restaurant within the hotel, but we didn't try it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    182
    34
    12
    4
See reviews for
190
90
51
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed while visiting relatives last weekend. It's the perfect place to stay if visiting UPenn or Drexel campuses. The rooms were beautiful, especially the bathrooms. Comfortable beds and an Ipad in the room were great touches. The staff was extremely accomodating and friendly. Would stay here again. We ate at Dostritos just a few blocks away. Amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Inn at Penn while visiting Drexel University this weekend. If you are visiting UPenn or Drexel, the location is perfect. Given its location, just about everything you need or want is within walking distance. The rooms are very clean and well-appointed, the beds are comfortable and the room comes with most amenities included in the price (an iPad, free wi-fi, bottled water and coffee/coffee maker and in-room refrigerator). We were able to check in early with no problems. The staff, from the front desk to the concierge to room service to the valets, are all very helpful and extremely pleasant. Should our son decide on Drexel, we know where we will be staying when we visit him over the next 4 years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for two nights during Thanksgiving 2012 , would have loved to stay here longer and each time we are in Philadelphia simply because it has the best on campus location to visit our daughter on Upenn, her housing is across the road .
But the price at most other times , other than I assume these lean holiday dates , makes it beyond our budget . The rooms and decor are brilliant . Only two other issues other than price , no breakfast included and very expensive valet parking .

Room Tip: If you have a child studying at Upenn, then nothing to beat this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Helpful, friendly, and courteous front desk. Room nicely apponted and clean. Towels and sheets nice and plush. Bed and pillows comfortable. Complimentary in room wifi and bottle water. Location is perfect for u penn and drexel. Early check in was no problem. Really appreciate our comfotable stay of 3 nights. Taxi ride to independence area was about 10-15 mins and $11 without tip. Taxi to amtrak 30th st station is about 10 mins and $7 w/o tip to go to nyc/boston. We took airport train and it was an easy walk to hotel, about 10 mins, from univ city station where we got off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Penn for one night in connection with a visit to UPenn. The hotel is perfectly located adjacent to the campus. The rooms are very clean, well-appointed, and comfortable. The service is exceptional -- from the front desk to housecleaning to the concierge. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stay here almost always when I visit Penn. The hotel is sandwiched between Samson and Walnut street, so right on the North side in the middle of campus. Rooms are nice and there is lots of open common space. Definitely recommend a drink in the living room downstairs. Rooms are very comforable and well appointed. Never any street noise issues.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Address: 3600 Sansom Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Inn at Penn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.