We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Inn at Penn to your Saves list
Hilton Inn at Penn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 Sansom Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekends from $199
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed while visiting relatives last weekend. It's the perfect place to stay if visiting UPenn or Drexel campuses. The rooms were beautiful, especially the bathrooms. Comfortable beds and an Ipad in the room were great touches. The staff was extremely accomodating and friendly. Would stay here again. We ate at Dostritos just a few blocks away. Amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    212
    43
    13
    4
See reviews for
231
116
56
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Inn at Penn while visiting Drexel University this weekend. If you are visiting UPenn or Drexel, the location is perfect. Given its location, just about everything you need or want is within walking distance. The rooms are very clean and well-appointed, the beds are comfortable and the room comes with most amenities included in the price (an iPad, free wi-fi, bottled water and coffee/coffee maker and in-room refrigerator). We were able to check in early with no problems. The staff, from the front desk to the concierge to room service to the valets, are all very helpful and extremely pleasant. Should our son decide on Drexel, we know where we will be staying when we visit him over the next 4 years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for two nights during Thanksgiving 2012 , would have loved to stay here longer and each time we are in Philadelphia simply because it has the best on campus location to visit our daughter on Upenn, her housing is across the road .
But the price at most other times , other than I assume these lean holiday dates , makes it beyond our budget . The rooms and decor are brilliant . Only two other issues other than price , no breakfast included and very expensive valet parking .

Room Tip: If you have a child studying at Upenn, then nothing to beat this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Helpful, friendly, and courteous front desk. Room nicely apponted and clean. Towels and sheets nice and plush. Bed and pillows comfortable. Complimentary in room wifi and bottle water. Location is perfect for u penn and drexel. Early check in was no problem. Really appreciate our comfotable stay of 3 nights. Taxi ride to independence area was about 10-15 mins and $11 without tip. Taxi to amtrak 30th st station is about 10 mins and $7 w/o tip to go to nyc/boston. We took airport train and it was an easy walk to hotel, about 10 mins, from univ city station where we got off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Penn for one night in connection with a visit to UPenn. The hotel is perfectly located adjacent to the campus. The rooms are very clean, well-appointed, and comfortable. The service is exceptional -- from the front desk to housecleaning to the concierge. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stay here almost always when I visit Penn. The hotel is sandwiched between Samson and Walnut street, so right on the North side in the middle of campus. Rooms are nice and there is lots of open common space. Definitely recommend a drink in the living room downstairs. Rooms are very comforable and well appointed. Never any street noise issues.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

excellent location adjacent to UPenn. very inviting library/bar for relaxing, reading, etc. rooms/bathrooms a bit small, but very comfortable. proximity to campus is biggest selling point. outstanding!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Address: 3600 Sansom Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Inn at Penn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.