We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Save Saved
You added Hilton Inn at Penn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 Sansom Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Philly Overnight Pkg
Ranked #4 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great City Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a wonderful place to Stay when visiting Philly. The location is ideal, next to the universities and a short drive to the art museum and downtown. The rooms are comfortable and very upscale. Continental breakfast in the lovely dining room was delightful. We have stayed there twice and will look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    178
    32
    12
    4
See reviews for
182
88
51
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mexico city
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here, so my daughter coulld go to the UPenn tour, definitely a great hotel, the staff is very helpful, they always have a big smile. The rooms are not very large but they are very comfortable. The breakfast price is good. We enjoyed our visit to Philadelphia even more thanks to them

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Used my Hilton honours points to stay here for the night on a road trip up the east coast. Valet parking was slick, as was check in, as was the suite we were upgraded to.

This place, while disappointing that there is no bar, is an excellent place to stay. They even give you an iPad for you to use, letting sort out when you want to pick you car up check your bill etc etc.

Impressed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbarag, Director of Sales at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello and thank you for your thoughtful comments on the Inn at Penn, A hilton Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourself however disappointed that we didn't let you know about our two bars. One bar is on the lobby level in the Living Room and it is open in the evening. Our other bar is on the lower lobby level in Penne Restaurant and Wine Bar. We offer specialty cocktails and an extensive wine list hand picked by our very own Master Sommelier. We do hope you will come back again very soon. We thank you for being our guest! Best, Nancy Barag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Penn for a quick weekend getaway. We traveled in late summer, so prices in Philly were still relatively high. We found that this hotel was a good value for the money.

Location: Adjacent to the campuses of UPenn and Drexel. This is a lovely area with many restaurants and bars nearby. It only takes a few minutes to drive into downtown Philly, depending on traffic. We loved this area of the city.

Parking: Hotel offers valet parking, for a price you would expect of a big city. Service was prompt and the attendants were customer focused.

Check-in: Routine check-in. The front desk staff could have been more polished. I remember having to speak to them first during check-in. However the check-in was seamless and since we only stayed one night, this was fine.

Accommodations: The room was nice. Everything seemed clean and the decor was updated. The only downside of our room was the lack of view. I believe we overlooked the roof of the adjacent building. It was cool that the room came with an iPad that allowed you to search the web and order services.

Food: We tried the breakfast buffet on Sunday. It left much to be desired. Its certainly not worth more than $10-$15 at most.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Inn at Penn is a Hilton property located literally across the street from the main University of Pennsylvania campus. With that location comes a variety of nearby eateries, shops, and cultural venues. I actually stayed the night "Super Storm Sandy" hit the area. There must be super soundproof windows as I heard nothing..no wind, no rain, no storm noise. I realized a full hurricane storm was raging only if I looked out the window. The employees are cordial, efficient and the room was comfortable with modern furnishings, including an in room iPad to use to keep up with email and other internet business. Like many newer hotels I only wish the window could have opened just a bit as I always miss fresh air in many sealed hotel rooms. I would recommend this hotel and stay there again as its location and ambience was quite a find in the middle of a large urban area.

Room Tip: I was on the fourth floor and could hear no traffic even though my room did face a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This Hilton-run hotel is on the Penn campus and very close to Drexel. Local bus and subway line stops with rapid connection to center city are minutes away, making this a convenient place to stay if you need to get to center city Philadelphia. The rooms are spacious, recently updated, very nicely decorated and very quiet. Penne restaurant, the hotel restaurant, has very good Italian food at reasonable prices. Public spaces are superb, including a library lounge. The staff are very accommodating. A wide variety of cafes and restaurants are within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the street side might be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I read that the Penn Tower had bad reviews so this is the second closest hotel to the Penn campus and hospitals. Despite being an "Inn" this is a true 4* hotel. Super comfy beds, clean and high end bathrooms and courteous staff. I've stayed her several times on overnight business trips and would definitely recommend this place as the spot to be around the Penn campus. Best to use discount rate since regular price can be high. The breakfast buffet is also fantastic with custom made omelettes!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Address: 3600 Sansom Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Inn at Penn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.