We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was Pretty Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel was Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

We stayed at this hotel this past week for two nights. We booked the hotel because of its proximity to both the historic district and the Franklin Institute. When we checked in we had a problem because the room was supposed to be smoke free and it reeked of smoke when we got there. After explaining about my son's asthma, they put an ionizer in the room for an hour to take out the odor. It was better but not great but they did lower the room rate. Rooms were a pleasant size. We had a King Suite and the bed was like Heaven. Pull out couch was older and ripped and not the most comfortable thing-but, it is a pull out couch so what can you say? The pool was small but adequate for my two young boys. Breakfast was pretty good as well. Few hot things but cereal, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, muffins, pastries, made it something for everyone. Front desk staff was not too pleased that we complained about the room. Doormen and valets were VERY nice. IF you have a group of more than 4 you will have a hard time getting a cab as they only have car cabs and cannot take more than 4 passengers which was inconvenient for our group of 5. Overall, a pretty good experience.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — Pull-Out couch; lack of on site parking
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    395
    131
    46
    23
See reviews for
296
185
49
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

Just got back from a couple of days in Philly with my family to see the historic sites and King Tut. Chose the Hampton Inn because of location (right between the 2 areas of the historic district and the Franklin Institute) and price

The hotel was great. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Even at 4 a.m. (I'm an early riser) the staff were great as I headed down to the lobby to get coffee and read. Also, my youngest child scraped his toe in the pool and the nice lady who was restocking the towels at the pool ran off to get him a bandaid.

The room was nicely decorated and very clean. I love the new bedding Hampton Inns are using now. Everything was great and would stay there again when we have the opportunity to go back to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

We loved our stay in this hotel it was great. The beds were so comfortable and the rooms spotless. The staff went out of their way to be polite and helpful at all times, nothing was a problem for them they were fab.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

Just top to bottom a great hotel for the price. From the moment we arrived to when we left, we were met with smiles and greetings.

The staff was going out their way to please and make sure everything was fine.

When we checked in to our room several light bulbs were out. We called the front desk and someone came within 5 minutes to fix it. I tried to tip him but he refused, just smiled and said "This is my job. I do it because I want to." (WOW!)

You can really tell that this place is managed very well. Their training and hiring must be really top notch. When we asked for restaturant reccomendations, they gave me a huge list and gave me exact directions for walking or driving. They also explained the fabulous
"Phlash" bus service. It cost $1 and takes you to most places you'll want to go.

The valet service is great ($20/day). Just call 20 minutes before you want your car and it is waiting in front of the hotel for you.

The location is great. Just a short walk/drive from everything.

Overall one of the most pleasant hotel experiences I have had.

  • Liked — Great staff, location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Maybe a good restaurant in the hotel.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

We had a great three-day stay at the Hampton Inn. Our room was very clean and had a nice view of the center city skyline. The staff was very pleasant, efficient and professional even with a hotel full of conventioneers (we were some of the few guests that weren't there for a convention). The complimentary breakfast was more than enough for a good start to the day. We had no problems with the location - it was convenient to Chinatown, the Reading Terminal Market and about three blocks off of Market Street.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

Stayed here last week on our vacation. Was a little nervous after reading about the shelter/soup kitchen down the street, but was very happy with whole stay. The area is a business area, with the convention center about 1 block away. We never even saw the shelter. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and always went out of their way to say hi or help in any way. The room was clean and we never heard our neighbors through the walls like most other hotels. Breakfast was wonderful with hot food and a never ending supply. Will definetely stay here again without a doubt!!

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast room was pretty crowded but seemed to empty out rather quickly after 8-8:30
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

My family of four was in Philly to see a Phillies ballgame. This location good as it was not too far from anything - walked to historical district - convention center across street - subway one block. Staff was SUPERLATIVE - from bellhop to check in and those in between - couldn't have been better. Great place for vacation or work.

  • Liked — location/staff
  • Disliked — lack of unloading space
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.