We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, but poor amenities.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great staff, but poor amenities.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Let me start off with this- the staff here is super-friendly and helpful, even by Hampton Inn standards. The valet, the usher and the front desk were great! But, the swimming pool and Jacuzzi were the dirtiest I have ever seen. The room had bed bugs- that was a real turn-off. If they can take care of these, everything else is great- the location, the staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay in Philly. I'm very pleased the staff met your needs and this will be reviewed with them. Also I apologize for the condition of the spa and pool. I will review the cleaning schedule with the maintenance department to make sure future guests don't encounter your experience.
Thanks for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    395
    131
    46
    23
See reviews for
296
185
49
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

So, great location, good prices, and Hampton quality. But the difference? The staff works really hard to help. They welcome you in the lobby, help your kids get juice, come around with mints at meals, give kids pages to color, let you check in early…. so a standard Hampton Inn with over the top service… not a bad thing at all!

Room Tip: Suites are big, and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate this feedback and I'm really pleased the staff made such a great impression on you. The staff works hard to achieve this level of service and your comments will be passed along.
Thanks for being OUR guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Fantastic location: easy walking to Chinatown, Reading Terminal Market, numerous train stations and bus tour pickup/drop off locations, the Basilica, Love Park and Suburban Station (took the train to and from the airport with shocking ease) and numerous restaurants. The majority of the staff was pleasant. There is a small pool and small jacuzzi downstairs and a small bar in the lobby. The pool was dirty and too cold for our taste when we went, and we didn't go in. Our room was always clean and we were given extra towels when we asked. The pillows were not at all firm and that caused some discomfort. The breakfast was standard hotel fare, and the staff that kept the food stocked were delightful. Afternoon cookies and cold citrus water were a nice touch. There was always someone handy to hail a taxi for us. We never felt scared when walking the streets (for those that noted the area). Yes, there are a lot of homeless folk around, but we were only approached for money at church.

Room Tip: Apparently most rooms are identical. We were on the ninth floor with a city view and it was identica...
See more room tips
Green Features: We were encouraged to reuse our towels, and they did not change our sheets during our stay.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay in Philly. We appreciate this feedback and will review with all the asociates. I'm glad the location worked out well for you and were able to see a lot of Philly. Hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA State
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Location of hotel was great, only drawback was street noise at night. Was booked full so hallways were noisy with kids. Small bar with bar food in lobby. Indoor pool and spa and nice work out area downstairs. No fridge or microwave in room, which was ok by us.
Flat rate cab from airport $28.50,parking rates were high. Hotel on 13th and main area for Liberty Bell was on 6th. Other direction into main downtown area just a few blocks. Of course main things we came to see were shut down. Did take Big Bus tour all around town for over view. Visit Reading Terminal, indoor market place. Easy walking city, lots homeless but were not bother by them. Had nice lunch in Chinatown 2 blocks away and picked up free trolley to local large casino and back. Clean and up to Hampton standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay while in Philly. I'm sorry you weren't able to see some of the historical sites because of the government shutdown but you were able to get to Reading Terminal and Chinatown. We have a lot to see in Philly and hopefully you will visit us again in the future.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. We stayed on the sixth floor in a room with nice views of the city skyline. The hotel staff were very helpful in suggesting places to visit or eat, and giving directions. On one day we did a big bus tour, and the concierge telephoned the company for us to come and pick us up. The hotel and the room was very clean. The public areas were well kept and staff always courteous. The room was a nice size with plenty of storage space. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was nice with a choice of hot and cold foods and cereals. There is also a small bar at the front. The hotel is within comfortable walking distance of many nice restaurants and is only a few minutes from Reading Market. Many of the city attractions are also within walking distance. Excellent hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review concerning your stay wt the Hampton Inn Philly. We appreciate the feedback on all your comments about the area and hotel amenities.
I'm glad you had a nice view from your room and enjoyed the flavor of Philly.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Hampton is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The rooms had plenty of space and were clean. The hotel was in a very good location as it was close to Reading Terminal Market, Chinatown and the main tourists attractions in Philadelphia. I found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The hotel had amenities I have not seen in British Hotels such as ice machines in the corridor and frozen ready meals which can be cooked in a microwave provided by the hotel. My only complaint is that the breakfast area was a bit small but the hotel provided a good choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. The staff will appreciate your great comments about the service, cleanliness ,and food selections. We are very close to Chinatown and the Reading Terminal....a must for for all guests.
Thanks for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We choose this mid-priced hotel for its location and hotel chain recognition. The room was quite good, clean and functional. Service, friendliness and attentiveness of the staff were appreciated. Arriving Sunday early afternoon, we were enjoyably surprised to get a room before the set hour. We left our car for the duration of our stay in an hotel assigned paying self parking. Parking prices were in line for Philadelphia. Breakfast choices were quite adequate and service ever present. It is conveniently located to Chinatown and easy access to the Reading Terminal Market. If you don't mind walking like us (Phily is a walkable city), you can walk to Independence Mall (departure for the Hop-on Hop-off buses), downtown shopping and restaurants, the Benjamin Franklin Parkway and the Barnes Foundation. Transportation for the Museum of Art is needed. Their Parkway with all those museums and fountains is not to be missed. Simply spectacular. Walking in the evenings did not appear to be a problem. Did not feel threatened. Overall, a good chain hotel with reasonably good access to many areas of the downtown core.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments concerning your recent stay in Philly. We appreciate this feedback and thanks for pointing out all the things to do for future guests. The location of the hotel is great because you are in the middle of most attractions. Your comments about the service and quality of the hotel is welcomed.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.