We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #22 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Very Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent four nights here while my husband attended a convention. This hotel only makes sense if you are spending most of your time at a convention. If you are coming here for any other reasn I would suggest looking at hotels on the other side of the convention center. This hotel borders on a rough area, no view, consistently poor customer service, so so breakfast, pool is tiny and filter did not seem to be functioning properly. Valets were slow to return car, self parking looked like a huge pain, rooms are okay but ours was a little beat up. If you are looking for a Hilton the Hilton Garden Inn seems to be in a better area and still right by convention Center and Reading Terminal Market. Another nice looking Hilton property was the Embassy Suites. looked like their rooms all had balconies and some overlooked the beautiful roundabout area by the museums that looks like Paris. The Embassy Suites is too far from convention Center though if you need to go there. Overall this was an okay place to lay your head at night. coffee was awful.... this was one of the worst Hampton Inns I have reviewed. I travel and stay at a lot of hotels... this one needs some more guidance from management in terms of customer service. The Old City Historical area looked nice if you are visiting for pleasure or the area around the circle by the Franklin Institute. Valet is $35/day here. Only book this if you get an amazing rate and are just going to the convention center. Sorry about the poor review Hampton....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback on your most recent stay with us while in Philly. We apologize if the surroundings made you feel uncomfortable and assure you our staff has measures in place to ensure safety of our guests. Your comments on breakfast and customer service will be shared with all the associates to improve in those areas.
Thank you for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    333
    112
    40
    20
See reviews for
258
153
46
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Have always thought this chain was not up to snuff with the big boys and was quite surprised at this property....clean, polished, excellent staff, nice room. We were not in town for a convention but the location just a blk away would have been appropriate. We were in easy walking distance of Reading Terminal Mkt, Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, etc yet not the midst of the hubbub of downtown (e.g., Market Street). Despite being at Race & 13th Street, it was amazingly quite inside the room as Race is a busy E-W thoroughfare.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. I'm very pleased we were better than the "normal Hampton" and the location worked well during your stay.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nice helpful staff, great location to reach all center city amenities. Walking distance to superior restaurants and sites. Perfect if you are attending the PA Convention Center. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Philly. Your comments concerning the hotel and location will help future guests.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Through the years, have been a big fan of the Hampton Inn brand, they do a nice job of good clean hotels, generally upgraded with lots of little extra perks and my stay in Philadelphia was very consistent with previous stays throughout the country.

- Staff was very nice, we arrived about 12:30, room was ready to go and they let us check in, which is always much appreciated.

- Hotel is very clean, modern and in a really good location (except one small issue).

Two negatives:

- Missed Wake Up Call - I asked for a wake up call, pretty early and it didnt come, not a huge deal as I was on vacation catching a train up to NY, so I had to catch the 7:20 instead of the 5:20, cost me about $20 but not a huge deal, who knows maybe they did call and the ringer was turned down low. I probably should of set it on my phone for a back up.

- Taxis - normally a hotel in a good location you can just walk out and pretty much get a cab, but this hotel sits in kind of an odd spot which makes it not that easy to grab a cab really quick, so if you are going somewhere you should probably call down and make sure a cab is called because its not like they are there lined up and waiting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us in Philly. We are glad the cleanliness and staff made you stay very pleasant. I do apologize for the missed wake up call and will review with the staff. Your comments concerning the taxi's are correct. Depending on the day and time it can be difficult to get a cab. We do work with 2-3 different cab companies to provide this service.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very friendly staff, a lot of complimentary services offered such as free hot breakfast every morning, free business center with free printing, and an excellent location. Walking distance to Independence Hall / Liberty Bell (15 min.), very close to Reading Terminal Market and the shops on Market Street and Walnut/Chestnut streets, as well as key Phlash bus stops that you can utilize to visit all tourist attractions from Penn's Landing to the museums up on the Ben Franklin parkway. The exterior of the hotel is not gorgeous but the rooms are clean and the service is impeccable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate this feedback and other guests will read this and make a decision on your comments. The most important factors to us were the cleanliness and service of the staff. I'm glad your experience with us made your stay.
Thank you for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel was excellent. Conveniently located to downtown and convention centre. Short walk from historical area and a close walk to art galleries, etc. Breakfast was good, rooms were clean. Ony issue was Fitness centre was too hot. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. Your great comments about the staff, food, and location are most welcomed.
Thank you for being our guest and hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Perhaps the most friendly staff that I have ever encountered in a big city hotel. Nice business center, pool, complimentary breakfast and just few blocks to the market and a 15 min walk to Independence Park/Hall, Liberty Bell etc. and another 15 min to Penn's Landing. Great location and more reasonable parking $26/day vs. $45/day than other hotels. Oh...yes, and FREE wifi...not a common occurrence in downtown Philly hotels. Adjacent to Convention Center and many food options. Would be great for business, pleasure and even families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for writing this great review about the hotel and staff. The staff will definitely get a copy of this. Your comments will help future guests make a decision about their hotel choice.
You are correct about the price for parking. We are reasonable compared to other hotels.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.