We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for convention goers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for convention goers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is a very good value--great location (just steps to the convention center), recently renovated (including its pool), good service, and good breakfast. In arrived at 7am and my room was ready. I can't tell you how nice it was to be able to get into my room early after arriving on a red-eye flight! My friend stayed at a nearby five-star hotel and wasn't able to check in until nearly 5pm.
During my convention, I was too busy for breakfast so I just grabbed a pre-made bagged breakfast or made my own from the breakfast buffet. In the afternoon, there are freshly baked cookies.
The people at the hotel were very helpful with directions and answering any questions I had. Thanks for making my stay welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. Reviews like this will certainly help future guests make a decision on where to stay. We are only steps away from the convention center and walkable to many historic sites and restaurants.. I'm glad we were able to get you into your room ASAP because of the distance you traveled.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    384
    130
    45
    23
See reviews for
291
182
49
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located near the airport with free shuttle service and nice variety of food for breakfast. Staff is very courteous and went above and beyond to accommodate my family. Our vehicle was parked safely at the hotel which enabled us to enjoy our vacation on the island of enchantment without a worry...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Hampton was consistent with my expectations of other Hampton Inns. The lobby was very nice and they offered ample breakfast seating. The staff working breakfast was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel also had a small bar that served drinks and snacks in the evenings--a bit unusual compared to other Hamptons. Overall, it was clean and well-kept except from some dislodged grout in the bathroom floor. It was easy to get cabs and the hotel was in walking distance of quite a few restaurants, etc. It is adjacent to China town and we noticed what appeared to be homeless people nearby, but we did not feel unsafe walking to/from the hotel in the evenings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. I'm very pleased the location worked well for your weekend stay with us. Your positive comments about the breakfast and cleanliness of the hotel will be passed along to the staff.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed at Hampton Inn for Penn Relays (last weekend of April) and quite convenient location. Friendly staff, clean room, reasonable price for stay. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast the usual but good choices. Pool a little small but clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. Your great comments about the staff, cleanliness, and location are very important to us and future guests.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A venor was supposed to have made a reservation. It did not. Elaine of the front desk honored the rate and got me a room. Glad to have that kind of service after flying from Detroit to Chicago to Philadephia arriving at the hotel at 8:00p.m.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. I'm so glad Elaine was able to get you into the hotel. She will be recognized for this.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good hotel with great location near the downtown Philadelphia Convention Center. The hotel staff is very friendly and responsive. I received a thank you email from Roger Weber, general manager, the day after check out. Sometimes it's the little things things that count! Warning: valet parking is pricey and it took about 25 minutes for them to retrieve my car. Convenient lobby bar!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for writing this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. I'm very pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and bar during your stay. The location of the hotel is great and it seemed to work well for you.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

First let me say I paid for the hotel using points. Next, the only rooms they had left were handicapped so the room was roomy especially the bathroom. The breakfast was very good and the workers kept everything filled up. The breakfast room was roomy.
If you enjoy walking this is the place. It is convenient to Independence National Park also the museums along Ben Franklin Parkway and the subway train at Market and Race Streets.
If you are in the planning stages of a trip I would take Amtrak to New York City either before or after Philadelphia. It is a delightful 90 minute trip.
The hotel is near China town and Reading Terminal restaurants. Plenty of reasonably priced restaurants. The city has some very nice parks and plenty to keep you busy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. This feedback is very important to us. I'm pleased the hotel and services exceeded your expectations and the location worked out for your needs. The hotel is centrally located to many attractions and makes it easy to walk.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#39 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.