We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
memphis, tn
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location for going to a meeting in the convention center. I used pool and fitness center and they were both very clean. Everything very typical for Hampton...nothing stood out to me. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for writing this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. Your comments about the location, hotel, and staff are important to us. Future guests will read these and determine if this is their hotel of choice.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    385
    130
    45
    23
See reviews for
291
182
49
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Québec
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We slept relatively well, except for other guests that speak loudly in the corridors. Wifi was free. It has to be reconnected a few times during the weekend. Very good breakfast, excellent coffee and tea all day long in the entrance. Nice pool, but no adjacent change rooms. Well located to walk easily to most attractions in downtown Philadelphia. Concierge service not always accurate and not very helpful for a few things. Some free snacks in the entrance at certain times. We would stay there again because of the great value for money with the rate we got.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. This feedback is very important for us because it will make us better. We appreciate the comments about the location and hotel in general.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the hotel 4/1 and 4/2 with my son and 2 grandchildren. I chose it because of the proximity to Independence Hall, the indoor pool, and the breakfast. We called en route to find out where the parking was located and after getting directions to park, we found out our room was ready at 10 AM on a Monday! That was wonderful news, so we took our bags to the room, and headed out for a day seeing the sights at Independence mall.
The children went to the pool both evenings; they liked that the best! They liked the cookies in the afternoon too!
Breakfast was very nice; it was crowded Tuesday, so we went a little later Weds. And, both children spilled their drinks and the staff was very helpful. CJ and Miss Pat were on duty that day.
The desk staff was also helpful, although we know Philadelphia well.
I stay in Hampton Inns often; you know what you're getting, the breakfast is a bonus when you want to feed children without trekking out to find something in the neighborhood and I think it's good value.
This Hampton seemed especially well run.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. All feedback is very important to us and it's especially great to see comments like this. I'm very glad you and the kids enjoyed the amenities( the pool for the kids) of the hotel. I will pass along these comments to the staff.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a great hotel if you are staying in Philly. The location is really great next to the convention center and near the museums. The rooms were clean, comfortable and updated. The facility had a nice gym and pool. Free breakfast! The staff were all super friendly. They even had a guy making coffee at breakfast, who also walked around and folded napkins and put napkins over food from the guests who stepped away from their tables! Who does that? Awesome staff, that's who! (This guy was working the morning of April 7th to give him credit)

Dear other Hilton properties...learn from this hotel and the Hampton Inn chain in general.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback about the staff, location, and cleanliness. Richard is one of our breakfast attendents who provides those little touches that make a difference. The staff works hard to achieve this level of service and I'm glad you experienced this.
Your comments will be read at our next hotel meeting.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The front desk staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us. The room was clean, although not the cleanest. We stayed on the eastern side of the building, but would choose the west side in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for the skyline view, otherwise you get roofs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for the review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the kinds words and this will be reviewed with the staff.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The room was very clean and the hotel is conveniently located to the market and center city. We did not take advantage of the complimentary breakfast but indulged in the cheese and crackers left out in the afternoon. The staff and valet service were unimpressive and we were charged and extra $5 because we picked our car up at 3:05; the cutoff was 3:00.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm pleased the cleanliness and location worked well for you. The parking is handled by a 3rd party and I will pass along your comments to them. Their policy is 3PM-6PM is a $5.00 surcharge but they should have waived the $5.00 being so close to 3PM. I apologize for this.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton Inn in Center City Philadelphia in March 2013.

Location – the hotel is centrally located and within a walkable distance to the heart of Center City where all the bars and restaurants are located. It is about a 15 min walk to Rittenhouse Square. However, a word of caution, if you are returning to your hotel later in the night, it would be better to take a cab. The cab ride would cost approx. $6 to $7. You are a few blocks away from China town and also Reading Market, make sure to check out both if you get a chance.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The person who checked us in was really nice and so were the rest of the staff.

They have both valet parking and self-parking in a lot close by. The self-parking is $10 lower and you might as well do it yourself after unloading your vehicle.

The breakfast was standard. The hotel was particularly busy that weekend with an event happening close by, resulting in the breakfast being really crowded, however, they did a great job keeping up.

A great place to stay to explore Philly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. All of your comments are great and we appreciate the feedback especially about the cleanliness and service.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#39 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.