We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Warrenton, Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place to stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with family, while touring the city. The kids loved the pool (and mom and dad liked the hot tub). The cookies, coffee and hot apple cider in the evening were a nice touch. Everything was clean and fresh. The breakfast was a big hit with all. Great location close to the convention center, chinatown and reading terminal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. I'm pleased the family loved the pool, location, and services of the hotel. Feedback like this will certainly help future guests.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    353
    124
    43
    21
See reviews for
281
167
46
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed over one night recently for a conference. We actually had a hard time finding the hotel. We drove by it on Race St 2 times before we saw the entrance and lobby facing the side street. Parking was tough. We checked out 28 hours later and was charged $60. Thank goodness we were reimbursed.

The room was exactly what I expected, clean, and comfortable. All items were in working order. We were also quite pleased with the service at the front desk. We were looking for a nice place away from the convention crowd to dine and we were pointed in the right direction. To get there we walked quite a bit, but passed the Liberty Bell, which is a must see attraction.

Breakfast was a cut above other Hampton Inns we've visited. There are plenty of seats and a larger variety of dining options.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. In regards to the signage on Race Street we are presently working with the city to add a sign. Hopefully it will be installed shortly. Your comments about the hotel and staff are welcomed.
Thank you for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Comfortable room--roomy and comfortable bed. Shower has good water pressure.Excellent front desk staff made suggestions for restaurant or dinner that was spot on. They have a bar in the lobby and a good breakfast. I would book this hotel again when I need to return to this part of town.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for writing this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. Your great comments concerning the hotel are appreciated and will help future guests of the hotel.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

First the good: location by the Market and Convention Center is fantastic, fitness areas good and the service was helpful. The average: beds in our room really were worn out and need a new mattress, breakfast area was not equipped to deal with the number of guests and was constantly messed. Thank goodness for friendly staff that were doing their best. Also, we were not greeted as Hilton Diamond and no hint of upgrade. If there were renovated rooms per some reviews I had read prior to booking, we didn't see evidence. Tip -- the Hotel is more on 13th than on Race. If you don't know the city you will drive right by it as the signage on Race is not great. Come North on 13th and you can scoot right in. Not much curb parking for valet so watch the parking tickets!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We welcome feedback and this will be reviewed by the staff. The hotel is in process of getting permission from the city to add a sign on Race Street. This will certainly help guests coming in from that direction. I'm glad the location worked for you and the staff worked hard to accommodate you needs.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

At first we had a difficult time finding the hotel - we drove right past in on the small, narrow, Race street. The entrance to the hotel is really on 13th street. The hotel is beautiful, modern updated, extremely clean. We did not hear our neighbors or the street noise below. The hot breakfast each morning was great for our family. It was a bit of a walk to Independence Mall, but we learned to walk a block over to Arch St for a more scenic route to the touristy area. A good part of Race street seemed a bit sketchy on our first day, but we did not have any problems. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the great feedback about the hotel and staff. Your comments about the signage on Race Street is correct and we are presently working with the city to add a sign.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Return visitor to this Hampton Inn property. Perfect for Flower Show visit. Recently renovated hotel with all the amenities you need, including fitness, whirlpool, pool, bar, complimentary beverages and snacks in lobby. Very accommodating staff that provided suite upgrade for Hilton Diamond status. Property very clean and quiet. Great value! Free breakfast!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. The high score and comments on the amenities will help future guests make a decision. I'm glad you liked the renovations, cleanliness, and service of the hotel.
Thank you for being OUR guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very convenient to the convention center. Easy parking in lot 1/2 block up from the hotel. Good free breakfast and usual quality that is expected from this chain. Reception desk staff helpful in suggesting near by places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the comments concerning the cleanliness, location, and staff of the hotel. Comments like this will certainly help future guests make a decision on where to stay in Philadelphia.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.