We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accessible for short visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #22 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very accessible for short visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

All you need from a hotel for a short town visit, close to the centre of town, close to a good restaurant, everything you need in the room is there, internet works, friendly staff. Two drawbacks: not able to open a window in the room, that drives me scatty, and not really impressed by the breakfast, coffee didn't taste great and I do get upset by all the plastic used and discarded. But these are cultural differences and I can live with those if everything else is alright.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate you telling future guests about the great location and amenities of the hotel. Your comments concerning the breakfast are understood. Unfortunately the food and paper products are all Hampton spec's and must be used.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    332
    112
    40
    20
See reviews for
258
152
46
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Loved the birthday surprise staff got into my room upon check-in! Very professional and at the same time friendly and helpful when info was needed! Nice swimming pool and jacuzzi area. Crowded restaurant area for breakfast on Sunday, probably hotel was sold out.. Loved the view from 10th floor!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia.
We appreciate the feedback and this will be forwarded to the front desk. Also Happy Birthday!!
I'm glad the front desk did something special!!!
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was much more reasonable than others in the area. Great accommodations. Easy walk to flower show and restaurants - Jake's has great pizza. Asked for and received quiet room on upper floor away from street. Self-parking was a breeze and just a half block walk. The parking has in/out privileges, but for local attractions, you're better off to take a cab. Staff wonderful. Nice FREE breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We do have a great location and being next to the convention center is a hugh plus. I'm glad you liked Jake's. The staff directs many guest's to them for pizza and sandwiches.
Thanks for the great comments and hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here while attending the 2013 Flower Show. We could not have chosen a better location. The hotel is literally across the street from the PA Convention Center (where the flower show was held) and a short walk from Reading Terminal, Chinatown, and many good restaurants. It is a 10-15 minute walk from Independence Hall and the historical area. It is also a short walk from central bus lines.

However, what impressed me the most was the hotel staff and management. This hotel was quite busy while I was there, yet the staff - from the reception desk to the concierge to the cleaning staff - were professional, very pleasant and helpful. The manager was very visible and helping guests. The breakfast was well stocked and one of the best I have had at a Hampton Inn. Coffee & tea were kept stocked throughout the day, not just at breakfast.This hotel is clean, comfortable, and obviously well-managed (with a happy staff).

The only down-side is that hotel parking is in an open street-level lot a block down the street (as opposed to an enclosed parking garage). I had no problems, but if you park a car, be sure to remove all valuables.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia during the flower show. This feedback will help future guests make decisions and we are thankful for that. We do have a great location being next to the convention center and the staff really work on making every guest feel comfortable.
Thank you for being our guest and hope to see you next year.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
416 reviews 416 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. We had a very clean room. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. This hotel is a short walk to the Pennslyvania Convention Center, Redding Terminal Market, and China Town. Breakfast was included each day - a buffet of hot and cold food. In addition there is a pool, hot tub, and fitness room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and pointing out the location and amenities.
We appreciate the comments because future guests will read this and make decisions.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowersouthjersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel was clean and accomodating. We needed a fridge and called down for one, within minutes, one was brought up to our room. Since our son likes to swim, the indoor pool was perfect in the cold weather. The best thing about this hotel is that it is in the middle of what we like most about Philly. It has Old City, Reading Terminal Market, and The Avenue of the Arts all wihtin a short walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback especially your comments about the cleanliness and location.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our extended family stayed at the Hampton Inn Convention Center for one weekend night and had a great stay. We were there to see the historical sites and hang out a bit. The hotel was an easy walk to Independence Square for most of our group, and a quick cab ride for the others. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the front desk was able to hook us up with adjoining rooms -- a bonus when staying with kids! The flower show was in town while we were there, but the hotel did a good job of maintaining a good level of service, and we did not experience any overcrowding or anything like that. The breakfast was really good, and one of the best I've had at a Hampton Inn with a nice mixture of hot and cold food. There was hot coffee available all the time in the lobby, and cookies in the afternoon. We loved the pool, too! The parking was the only downside, as it was a packed lot, and many cars had to be moved to get ours out. I don't really think this is the hotel's fault though. Next time I come to Philly, I am staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. Your comments about the staff and hotel are welcomed and will certainly be reviewed by all the associates. It was a very busy weekend and I'm very pleased the service level kept up with the volume.
Thanks for being our guest and hope to see you in the future,
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.