We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent conference hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #23 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Turku, Western Finland, Finland
1 review
“Decent conference hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. The location was convinient, since the convention centre is next door. The room and the bathroom were nice and clean, and the bed was big and confortable. Could hear the people next door partying and shouting though, and the aircon/heater was noisy. I will sleep through anything, but can imagine this would bother many people. The free breakfast was great. Although they had paper plates and cups, and it was mostly unhealthy and tastless. Appreciated the fresh fruit though. The coffee was good. The staff were very nice and polite, but didn't know much (when we asked about places in Philadelphia). But we had free wireless in the room and there was a printer we could use. All in all, the place isn't especially fancy, but is suited for a bussiness stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for future Hampton Inn guests. We appreciate the feedback and will use it as a tool to improve our services. The location is so close to many attractions and restaurants and is one of our selling points.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    339
    120
    41
    20
See reviews for
268
159
46
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The one bedroom suites are huge.. Very clean and comfortable..The staff was courteous and helpful .. There isn't much of a view , and the parking is a bit comical , but it's a great place to stay if you are visiting center city Philadelphia or Penn's Landing.. I will most likely stay there again, but next time I'll skip the valet parking..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed the suite. Your comments about the cleanliness will be passed along to the housekeeping department.
Thanks so much for being our guest and hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

we are fequently visiors if the hampton inn while my husband is on busines trips and this weekend was the absolute worse. There was no hot water for 3 days!! my husband had to miss a days worth of work due to not being able to shower. The hotel staff kept saying it was in the process of getting fixed and still nothing. i just read its the hamtpon inn's policy to refund.. we got 1 days refund out of 3 days with no water..???

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback and certainly apologize for the problems incurred. The staff works very hard to achieve the high levels of service and accommodations and we didn't deliver on our promise.
Hopefully this doesn't deter you from using Hampton Hotels in the future.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here in January as base for our trip to Washington DC. The staff was friendly and always pointed us in the right direction. We enjoyed the free breakfast. It was a good add-on value and the staff was always cleaning. If you want something more substantial then head over to the Terminal Reading Market. Less than a 5 minute walk and they have all the food choices you could possible imagine. Everythig was within walking distance and we felt safe whether 9AM or 9PM. Clean hotel. Slept great. Convention center is right across street and I will definatley consider using this hotel for next business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. This feedback will help future guests make a decision on where to stay. Your comments concerning the hotel and surrounding area are welcomed. Hopefully we will see you in the near future.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This business hotel is located in the convention center of Philadelphia, but in walking distance to most of the sights of the city. The stafff was very friendly and the hotel rooms were spottless and nicely decorated. The breakfast was very good, if you are in a hurry, you may also take it away. We enjoyed our stay there a lot.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback and high score you gave us. The associates work hard in achieving this level of service and I'm glad you experienced this.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We very frequently stay at Hampton Inns and this was very disappointing. In short, we were given a room with two double beds rather than a king room like we'd requested and prepaid for and we didn't sleep at all because the heater in the room was VERY loud. To be fair we were refunded our money eventually (which is Hampton's policy) although even this was extremely difficult because we had prepaid. I know we will never stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate this feedback because it will make us better. I apologize for you not getting the bed type requested, this is very important to guests. The nosiy heater in the room can certainly cause a lousy night sleep and the maintenance on these is very high on our list. The Hampton stands by the 100% guest satisfaction and you certainly deserved a refund. I hope this doesn't deter you from using Hampton's in the future.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I spent four nights in this hotel and I would love to stay there again when I go back to Philadelphia. The staff is helpful and welcoming. I really appreciated the free wireless internet, the complimentary breakfast in the morning and all day hot beverages available for guests, and the availability of the business center when I needed to print some documents. I didn’t check the hot whirlpool this time, but I hope to have another chance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the hotel. We appreciate all the feedback we can get because it will make us better. Since you didn't use the pool or whirlpool this time hopefully when you return you will be able to use it.
Thank you for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.