We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Race Street, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Member Savings
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Does a job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Good location if your going to the convention centre. I was not. Here for a week I found the area quite and uncomfortable: near he greyhound terminal and a church that takes in drug addicts it doesn't exactly paint a great picture of Philly.
Breakfast is free, but to be honest I wouldn't pay for that slop (my colleagues and I ended up going to Reading Terminal for breakfast). The bar is quite depressing at night.
The rooms are big, however and they are clean (although I found it disturbing that the hotel mad a point of advertising the fact they washed the sheets for new guests - I would hope this was standard practice and nothing to feel the need to advertise so much).
May be coming back to the city on business next year, but definitely won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 79as79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback and use it as a tool to improve. I'm sorry the location didn't work well for you and I apologize for that. The breakfast food is the standard Hampton food. We are required to have these items and change the hot food choices daily. I will forward your comments to Hampton.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel was well priced for its location. The rooms are small probably because the building is older? However, the rooms were quiet. Breakfast included which is a plus! The location was within walking distance to a lit if sites. The pool was clean and so was the gym. My only suggestion to the hotel staff is to periodically check the gym as many children were playing on the equipment. Not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itaewandong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm really glad you liked the location and the services of the hotel. The hotel is centrally located and works well for many guests.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our two day stay was pretty good value but for me, travelling to Philadelphia for a weekend with small kids, it really fell down in the parking, breakfast and elevator departments.

Parking is $35 valet. You are told (pretty curtly) you may self-park but the nearby lot was full while we were there. I heard at least one guest complain that parking enforcement officers were lurking, and ticketed his car outside the hotel when he was just a minute late back to where there are a few spaces where you may load and unload for a short time. There is some on-street parking nearby, but at your peril, and the streets can be a little sketchy at night, I felt. $35 for parking your car overnight? Really?

The hotel's breakfast room was PACKED. You had to wait for a table, and the main room is windowless, overcrowded and, frankly not very pleasant. The overflow bar area was a bit better but you still had to fight your way to the buffet breakfast at the end of the breakfast room. These hotels' free breakfasts are a major selling point, so why not make them a bit better? My advice is to walk the 2 or 3 blocks to Philadelphia's famous Reading Terminal Market and get something there. But if you have small kids, it's not so easy.

Finally, the elevators were very, very slow. When we were trying to leave on the Sunday morning, they actually went offline for 20 minutes or so, meaning we couldn't get downstairs. Annoying, but not the staff's fault.

On the plus side the hotel staff were very pleasant, and the location is good if you need to be downtown, or of course for the Convention Center itself. But it's not a relaxing, family hotel, not by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunToSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback and use it as a tool to improve. As you noted we had elevator problems during your stay, and I apologize for this. This is not normal and the service company corrected as soon as they could. The breakfast area can certainly get crowded at times. It really depends when you come to breakfast and the amount of people in the hotel. On weekends and holidays it is much more busy because there are 3-4 people in a guestroom.
I'm pleased the staff was accommodating and the location of the hotel worked for you.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Conveniently located to many area attractions. Our room was very clean with a large bathroom. Nice towels and comfortable beds. The breakfast room is huge, and although it was very crowded the morning we were there, we didn't have trouble finding a table. Many choices for breakfast and the area was very neat and clean. The pool is very small, which disappointed my son, but luckily there weren't many people there. Overall, this is a good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your comments concerning the hotel and staff are welcomed and will be passed along to them. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when you visit Philadelphia.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I arrived early to town as I had a lunch appointment.I pulled in front to park the car with the valet service.I wanted to check my bag with the hotel until I could access the room upon my return.I offered my credit card to speed up the check in process and the clerk advised a King room was ready and they would be able to provide the room now which was greatly appreciated.

The location and room were clean and well kept.The bed was fine and there was a easy chair & desk.The only thing I found odd was the tub seemed very narrow & the shower space awkward.
The staff seemed friendly.Breakfast was as expected with the usual fare.If you are staying for business it serves the purpose at a fair rate for a downtown hotel.

The valet was reasonably quick but it depends on the departure time.Be sure to call down to the desk to save time.the hotel can be difficult to find as its not very visible with one way streets surrounding it



Its conveniently located and a very short walk to several attractions and restaurants,The Reading Market is a must see.Bring a cooler to fill up on fresh meats,cheeses and fish.The bakery is fantastic.

Room Tip: the rooms facing north & west away from the convention center are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NATIVENy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for writing this review. This will help future guests when staying at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. I'm very pleased you enjoyed the clean rooms and helpful staff. The staff takes pride in helping the guest with restaurants and local attractions.
Thanks for being our guest and hope you have the opportunity to come back to Philadelphia.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is in a good area - walkable to many restaurants and sights. You should definitely try the noodle houses in Chinatown which are only a few blocks away, as is Reading Terminal market. Room was very clean and comfortable. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. This Hampton Inn was reasonably priced and a great value for the location. If you are looking for something chic or fancy, this is not your place. Buffet breakfast is like other Hampton Inns - it gets very crowded and on a Sunday morning there were many families and kids. If you are looking for a sophisticated or hip atmosphere, this would not be your place. However for a family trip to Philly or a short business stay, it is an excellent choice. We did not use the pool facilities while there so can't comment, but there was a strong smell of chlorine in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNE848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The comments about Chinatown and other venues are correct. Reading Terminal Market is just wonderful and Chinatown has so many choices. I'm very pleased you enjoyed the hotel and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice hotel, clean rooms and linen. Nice breakfast, free wi-fi. Centrally located. However, our room was overlooking the service entrance of the convnertion center and trucks started rolling around 6:30 am. And, I don't think there was even a convention as it was over thanksgiving. The pool was very small but I guess this is expected for a downtown hotel

Room Tip: All suites are on the same site overlooking the convention center. Try not to stay on that site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenStateTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. i apologize for the noise. There are times the convention center creates noise and normally for a short period of time. I'm glad you enjoyed everything else about the hotel.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Chinatown
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#12 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
City Center East
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race Street, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing