We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accomodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
West Point, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Accomodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I arrived early to town as I had a lunch appointment.I pulled in front to park the car with the valet service.I wanted to check my bag with the hotel until I could access the room upon my return.I offered my credit card to speed up the check in process and the clerk advised a King room was ready and they would be able to provide the room now which was greatly appreciated.

The location and room were clean and well kept.The bed was fine and there was a easy chair & desk.The only thing I found odd was the tub seemed very narrow & the shower space awkward.
The staff seemed friendly.Breakfast was as expected with the usual fare.If you are staying for business it serves the purpose at a fair rate for a downtown hotel.

The valet was reasonably quick but it depends on the departure time.Be sure to call down to the desk to save time.the hotel can be difficult to find as its not very visible with one way streets surrounding it



Its conveniently located and a very short walk to several attractions and restaurants,The Reading Market is a must see.Bring a cooler to fill up on fresh meats,cheeses and fish.The bakery is fantastic.

Room Tip: the rooms facing north & west away from the convention center are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for writing this review. This will help future guests when staying at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. I'm very pleased you enjoyed the clean rooms and helpful staff. The staff takes pride in helping the guest with restaurants and local attractions.
Thanks for being our guest and hope you have the opportunity to come back to Philadelphia.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    394
    131
    46
    23
See reviews for
295
185
49
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is in a good area - walkable to many restaurants and sights. You should definitely try the noodle houses in Chinatown which are only a few blocks away, as is Reading Terminal market. Room was very clean and comfortable. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. This Hampton Inn was reasonably priced and a great value for the location. If you are looking for something chic or fancy, this is not your place. Buffet breakfast is like other Hampton Inns - it gets very crowded and on a Sunday morning there were many families and kids. If you are looking for a sophisticated or hip atmosphere, this would not be your place. However for a family trip to Philly or a short business stay, it is an excellent choice. We did not use the pool facilities while there so can't comment, but there was a strong smell of chlorine in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The comments about Chinatown and other venues are correct. Reading Terminal Market is just wonderful and Chinatown has so many choices. I'm very pleased you enjoyed the hotel and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice hotel, clean rooms and linen. Nice breakfast, free wi-fi. Centrally located. However, our room was overlooking the service entrance of the convnertion center and trucks started rolling around 6:30 am. And, I don't think there was even a convention as it was over thanksgiving. The pool was very small but I guess this is expected for a downtown hotel

Room Tip: All suites are on the same site overlooking the convention center. Try not to stay on that site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. i apologize for the noise. There are times the convention center creates noise and normally for a short period of time. I'm glad you enjoyed everything else about the hotel.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed 1 night with the family. Great location near Chinatown, Reading Terminal Market & downtown. Room was clean & well appointed, beds comfy, check in/out was quick & the people at the front desk were courteous & helpful. And the area is safe to walk around at night. The buffet breakfast was definite plus. Typical menu of eggs, potatoes, waffles, fruit, etc. Kids enjoyed the indoor pool & hot tub, another reason we chose this hotel. Did the self parking option, which was in a small lot a 1/4 block up the street, very convenient, paid $25 which is average for overnight parking in the city. Overall, a nice hotel, good value, great location, would stay there again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room, better views of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for writing this review. This feedback is very important to the hotel because we use it to improve the hotel. I'm glad the kids liked the pool and breakfast.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Clean and nice rooms, centrally located and hotel staff were remarkably nice and helpful. Best breakfast for this type of hotel with a large selection. Would definitely recommend, especially for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. i'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay and will come back again. This feedback is very important for the hotel to improve and let future guests know about the hotel.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great central location, quiet (for a city hotel), clean, friendly, attentive staff. Good facilities.
Would stay here again. Breakfast adequate but like typical american hotel food, not very tasty or particularly healthy. City Hall, public transport and Reading Terminal market all within easy walk.

Room Tip: Rooms in the north west corner appear to be the quietest as further from roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for writing this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn. This feedback certainly helps us in making us better. I'm pleased you enjoyed the services and comforts of the hotel and would return when you are in the area again.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was at a convention in Philadelphia and wanted to stay at a Hampton Inn (trying to rack up those Hilton Honors points and love the consistency of their service!) The hotel itself is just across the street from the convention center and no more than two blocks from Reading Market, a great place to get a snack, meal, or just people watch. The staff was exceptionally patient, even when we had to change the way they billed our shared room twice. The room was spotless. Lots of room in the bathroom for our "stuff." which was nice! I didn't end up eating breakfast there, so can't comment. They do not have an airport shuttle, and a taxi is about $25.00. I was able to split it with two other conference attendees. I would definitely stay again! I can't speak to normal value because we had a pretty good rate for the conference.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback and use it in our training. I'm very pleased the room was perfect and the location fit your needs. Being next to the convention center and right around the corner from Reading Terminal works well for most guests.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.