We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, especially for biz travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #22 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, especially for biz travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here for two nights on business and i have absolutely no complaints with this Hampton Inn.

Location is great. It's right near the Convention Center, which I'm sure is a big plus for most business travelers. It's also about a 15 minute drive from the airport and within easy walking distance to Reading Terminal Market and Chinatown.

My room wasn't particularly spacious, but it was by no means cramped (I was put up in a double room rather than a queen or king). Wifi is free. I didn't hear any outdoor or hallway noise. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful, and I was almost always greeted whenever I walked in to the lobby. Thanks to a flight delay, I checked in at almost 2 a.m. I asked how much a bottle of water would be from the hotel pantry, and the receptionist was kind enough to give me one for free.

I always appreciate Hampton Inn when traveling for business. Their breakfasts to go are a great idea and very convenient for those of us starting our work days very early.

There's no free parking, but there's a self-parking lot just down the street. Overnight parking costs $25/night.

Overall, highly recommended if you're staying for business. If you're coming for a vacation, this place is still a good bet. The Race Vine station (Broad Line) is just a couple of blocks away, or you can easily walk south to City Hall, where you can the two subway lines and the trolley.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate you informing future guests about the hotel, especially the services and location of the hotel. I'm very pleased you enjoyed Philadelphia and hope you get a chance to return.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    332
    112
    40
    20
See reviews for
258
152
46
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is not only well situated, right across the street from the Convention Center, but they have a fully stocked bar that opens in the late afternoon with great deals on drinks during Happy Hour. It is a little tough to find a place around there for a cocktail.

Room Tip: Go for as high as you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all feedback and it is reviewed by the staff. Most Hampton's do not have a bar and it works very well for us being next to the convention center. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here in October 2012 for a week for business. It was a great stay! The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to Reading Terminal Market, the shops and restaurants downtown, and the historic area. It's about a mile to the Schuylkill River Trail as well. The hotel itself was clean, and the staff was friendly. The housekeeper on our floor was especially outgoing and always had a smile ready! The fitness center was nicer than other fitness centers I've seen in hotels, and had several different machines, plus free weights and a cable machine. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. This feedback is great and the associates review all reviews. I'm really pleased you loved the location, associates, and hotel. Thanks for letting future guests know what our hotel is about.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is right by the convention center, the place is clean and the staff is crazy friendly. I stayed here twice in September. There are so many great places to eat within walking distance. Must visits include the Reading Terminal for breakfast and lunch and for dinners try Buddakan, Tinto and The Continental. All over the top good!! I am looking forward to my next visit to Philly and The Hampyton!

Room Tip: The room facing Race was a bit more noisy than the one facing the other way. No huge noise either w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for this review. I see you went to some great restaurants and Philly has many more!! Your kind words about the hotel are welcomed and I hope to see you back soon.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here while attending a convention. You can't ask for a better location, convention center is right across the street within walking distance. There are many other things within walking distance, best of all, the Reading Terminal Market (YUM!). The hotel is clean and all employees were friendly. The free breakfast (which included Western Omelets) was beyond what I had expected. And again, the beds (just like the Hampton Inn in Ft. Lauderdale) were to die for. There were pillows of different firmness, the bed was just right and sheets were silky smooth. It was QUIET-I would have sworn I was the only one staying at this hotel. The price was great! The only drawback was the hallway from the elevator to my room--it was stifling hot day or night. To be fair, we were going through a change of seasons and I know the HVAC system can sometimes be "confused". I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback because it certainly helps us get better but also informs future guests what we have to offer. You are right about the Reading Terminal Market! I suggest this to everyone and now that we have the "best" sandwich in the country by the travel channel located there. Also you are right about the hallway heat. Very difficult to monitor between seasons.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I loved being right across the street from the convention center. I could leave the hotel and walk there in 5 minutes. I found the free breakfast very satisfying, with fresh fruit and a wide selection of other items. The coffee was always available and good tasting. The hotel is quite close to Chinatown and other chain restaurants as well. Reading Terminal is also very close. I used the exercise room and found the equipment in very good shape (new) and clean. My room was always cleaned up spotlessly. The price was more reasonable than other hotels this close.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, but I was on a lower floor (6th) and had no trouble with street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The comments about the staff and hotel are much appreciated. The hotel is centrally located and works well for most guests.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I was in Philly for the inflatable road show & they had a deal going on with this hotel. Hotel was great, it was pretty much connected to the convention center, close to all the downtown attractions the employes were very helpful. Breakfast was great every morning. Rooms were clean I can't say any thing bad about this hotel at all!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate all the great things you had to say about the hotel. With future guests reading these comments will help them make decisions about future bookings.
Thanks so much for being OUR guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.