We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay couldn't have been better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #30 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn for 5 nights for a conference. The hotel has recently been renovated and it shows. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The business center is not the biggest but it is adequate for sending emails and printing what I needed. The breakfast was great. Yes the food was not the greatest, but they had fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, pastries and juice, coffee, tea and hot chocolate as well as waffles you make. There is coffee and tea available all day as well as pretzels and cookies. I had to buy asprin in their little store and a drink and it wasn't that badly priced, I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were comfortable and the suite came with a refrigerator and microwave. Loved the stay and would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you for writing this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback especially about the service you received. The staff work hard to achieve this level.
Thanks for being our guest and hope to see you in the future.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    430
    143
    51
    25
See reviews for
321
202
54
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights, was able to check-in a few hours early and leave a little later than usual. They were always accommodating. The rooms are spacious, the bed comfortable, a good sized bathroom and shower, all clean. I was next to the elevator lobby and it was never an issue. The front desk and floor staff are friendly, helpful and visible. Breakfast was perfect for me, maybe a little sparse if you're there with the family. It's several Belgian Waffle makers, some cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, sausage and different type of egg each morning. I stuck with the waffles and fruit because the egg and sausages are buffet style and kind of rubbery. There's also the usual English muffins, toasting bread and bagels.

There's always coffee available, and soft pretzels/cookies in the afternoons.

If it's important, the rooms don't have a mini-bar, and the TV is a standard cable package and not movies on demand or anything.

I'd easily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write you review of the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. Your high praise of the hotel is welcomed and this will be shared by all the associates. I'm glad the hard work of the assocites was experienced during your 4 day stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Helpful customer service throughout our five night stay. Clean room. Comfy bed. Fluffy towels. Reliable free wi-fi. Reasonably good free breakfast (not just waffles, pastries and cereal -- included fresh fruit, sausage patties, eggs). Reliable A/C, iron, and blow dryer. Sadly, didn't try the pool or exercise room. Enjoyed complimentary WSJ & USA Today, water bottles, yummy afternoon cookies. They tracked down a lint-roller just for me. Next door to convention center, Reading Market, mile to Independence Hall, tour busses, and Constitution Center. Only criticism: Need to invest in higher quality toilet paper.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback and it was nice to put how close we are to many focal points. This will be reviewed by the staff and thank you for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Very convenient access to convention center, comfortable, clean rooms, helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for writing your review of the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback.
Thank you for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburban Washington DC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The Hampton Inn's address is 1301 Race St., but the entrance is on 13th street. Other than a sign many stories high, there is no indication of the hotel on Race St. There is no door, no sign, nothing. Very frustrating, especially when your GPS says, you have reached your destination. Finally we found it, and the welcome was warm. Parking is available one block away. The rooms are newly renovated and very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Check in at front desk was handled with "local color" - which apparently means yelling into walkie talkies that are turned up so loud as to distort. I don't know why someone working a front desk at 4:30 p.m. would be yelling into a walkie talkie, but there you go. I was told several times "hold on a second" as Ms. Walkie Talkie barked a new piece of info ...

Not quite a welcome. The empty coffee urns (both) were a nice touch, too.

Really, the place seemed a zoo, and there was no event, not a huge crowd ... just a lot of loud, crazy employees who don't seem to have any clue as to how much a guest would like not to feel like they wandered into a barroom after 12 hours of flying.

Other staff (notably door and bartender in bar) were very nice.

The rooms were dreadful. I'm a Diamond Hhonors person and expect to be given a good room - and as I noted, NOT NEAR AN ELEVATOR. My first room literally faced the elevator. Had to go back to the front desk and go over what "not near an elevator" means.

The rooms were tiny; this is not NYC, nor a super high rent part of PHL; you could afford to give people another 120 square feet. As it is, specially chopped back furniture (in order to fit in the room) and a bathroom that won't work for seniors or anyone overweight.

I usually evaluate against price, but I just can't recommend staying here. It's not a nightmare, but it's not very acceptable, either.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. I would like to apologize for the service you received. This will be reviewed by the staff so we can improve in the future.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here Feb. 28-Mar. 1, 2012. The staff here is so accommodating. You really feel that you are never a bother and they truly love helping you. From the concierge to the front desk staff, from the breakfast attendants to the housekeeping staff, they are a first-class operation. The bedding is so relaxing and comfortable. A refrigerator and microwave combo is available, you just have to request it. The breakfast seems to get better every time we go there. This time they served "real" oatmeal, scrambled eggs, sausage, french toast sticks, as well as the fresh-made belgium waffles, fruit, assorted danish and muffins, bagels, assorted cold cereal, and yogurt. Of course, they have coffee, tea, cocoa, and apple, orange, and cranberry juices. Complementary coffee, tea and cocoa is available all day and night in the lobby. Self-parking is only 200 yards from the hotel and easily done. The pool and hot tub, while not huge, are more than sufficient and well kept and doesn't close until 10 pm. The fitness room is well-appointed and open 24 hours. Free wi-fi in the room is a real bonus. However, if you forget your laptop, the business center is a great option. There is only one washer and one dryer, but they work well and are inexpensive. They also now have a bar off the lobby. It seemed to be only those there for business meetings and they were not loud or rowdy. The central proximity to EVERYTHING is key. I would like to mention again the helpfulness of the staff. We had to check out at 4 a.m. and they still made sure we got to-go breakfast bags!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback especially from a repeat guest. I'm very pleased you see the consistency which the staff works very hard on.
Thanks for being our guest again and hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.