We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cheesesteak- Historic District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's Famous Steaks

Sonny's Famous Steaks
228 Market St, Frnt, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2846
215-629-5760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Cheesesteak- Historic District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The servings were large, the Classic Cheesesteak- w/Cheese Whiz was very good. I had fries with Cheese and Bacon. I recommend having the fries extra crispy, or they will be very limp when they put the cheese on. This is a great option when in the Historic District

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    106
    18
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Want a cheese steak? Look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Visited Sonny's today with friends on a tour of Philadelphia and I wasn't disappointed. Had a "Classic" - cheese steak with cheese whiz, fried onions and we shared bacon cheese fries. I don't think I will taste another cheese steak and enjoy it as much as I did today. If you miss Sonny's you will miss the best cheese steak in Philly. Fact.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheesesteak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was close to our hotel. Very large portions. So make sure you are hungry or else a good idea to share. Disproportionate amount of meat to bun to cheese. They ran out of onions because it was late and due to the end of the flower show. Sides were not the greatest. Onion rings from a box and ready made fries.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Philly Cheesesteak!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Couldn't decide where to go for my first "authentic" Philly cheesesteak. Researched and Sonny's came up with good reviews. Well I'm here to say....wow! My husband and I got one with provolone and one with chez wiz and extra onions. The young girl who took care of us couldn't have been nicer. The music playing was fun, and since it was Thursday late afternoon, not too busy. When I took my first bite, I was in heaven. The sandwich was hot, the roll perfect, the onions crunchy. The meat wasn't dry and gray like some that people experienced at those " famous" places. It was just perfect. I would go back to Philly just for a Sonny' s cheesesteak. Yum!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“One of the better cheesteak places in the city. Must see if you are in Olde City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Tourists, if you are visiting the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall, you need to add this to your list. Not that I want this place to get swamped during my lunch break but I feel bad for tourists who buy steaks in a food court, a lunch truck or Campo's. Take a walk to Sonny's by 3rd Street and Market and get a decent steak. I've been going to this place since they opened a few years ago. They have recently made cosmetic changes to make it look better but the steaks are still hand carved right before your eyes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Famous Steaks also viewed

 
 

Been to Sonny's Famous Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's Famous Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.