We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving with a HS Band” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spirit of Philadelphia

Spirit of Philadelphia
401 S. Columbus Blvd., Penn's Landing, Philadelphia, PA 19106
866 455 3866
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$91*
and up
Ranked #48 of 122 Activities in Philadelphia
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great Entertainment at a Great Value. That's the Spirit. Festive yet affordable, the Spirit of Philadelphia, conveniently located at Penn's Landing is alive with vibrant dining and entertainment, day or night. Come aboard for a brunch, lunch, sunset or dinner cruise and let us engage you with our unique combination of dining, dancing, entertainment and breathtaking views. And the best part? It's all included for one price. Welcome Aboard.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving with a HS Band”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I attended as a chaperone with a HS band that had played in the Philly parade earlier that day. The ride was more about the kids and the meal than a narrated tour. The food was very good, the DJ played to what the kids wanted and kept them happy. The wait staff was intermittent in attending to the diners, being very attentive early, disappearing for awhile, checking back briefly. A few of them joined with the kids during one of the line dances, which was fun to watch. This was a great experience for all who attended. Adult beverages are not cheap.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    18
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conshohocken
1 review
“Wonderful Experience - slightly overpriced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was hesitant to book a spirit of philadelphia cruise for my husband and I because of some less than fantastic reviews but after experiencing a cruise I would reccomend it for anyone. we paid for a private table next to the window for around $99 a person(plus about $40 in reservation fees). We were very near to the dance floor and enjoyed the dj and on-boat activities. When they activities got a little loud we went to the top deck of the boat and enjoyed our drinks and took some pictures. It was a beautiful experience. Dinner was great, much better than your average buffet, and our server found us no matter where we went on the boat to make sure we had full drinks. Thanks for the great experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“DIVERSITY IS KEY!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The food was delicious! The cruise and narrated tour onboard was excellent, but the music entertainment was one-sided and not varied for all to enjoy. Seniors felt left out b/c there was just one song played for them and that was played as they were returning to their seats with their food. After that, it was just for the young...they never came back to anything for the older people. I would have loved to be able to dance with my husband and/or enjoy a few songs from each generation. Start with the young, they swallow their food quickly, then play a few calmer songs, followed by more fast songs, and then a few calmer ones. That way everyone who paid to be there would have had a good time instead of feeling like the cruise was only for the young. How sad! Screaming and hollering and jumping up and down the entire time was hard on digestion as well as hearing aids. Remember we all take our turn at this, so diversity is the answer!!!! Was enjoyable but could have been better!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Night Out!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I took my boyfriend on a diner cruise aboard the Spirit of Philadelphia. Every single one of our experieince on board and off were exceptional. From checking in to disembarking, we were met with smiles, welcomes, thank yous and I think everyone on the boat wished my boyfriend a Happy Birthday!
The food was delicious. Excellent choices and all well done. PLENTY to eat for every taste and desire. The bar is pricey but if you book ahead of time you are given the option to pre-purchase drink tickets. Take advantage of this bonus. In fact, take advantage of pre-purchasing anything you can b/c it it much more expensive aboard the ship. Example: Boarding Photo Package...just over $18 if pre-paid, almost $30 on the ship. If you are celebrating something, don't bother buying their balloon packages, we saw several ppl bring their own aboard.
The entertain was so fun! The waiters/waitresses preform throughout the cruise. The DJ is engaging. The music is upbeat yet appropriate throughout the dinner "hour" (which is actually about an hour and a half) but once the dinner is over...the dance floor comes alive. Literally. Lighted floor and all. The DJ did an excellent job of old vs new with all the favorite line dances.
For us, the best part was the decks. There are three levels to go out and view the city from. The top deck (observation) deck is amazing. Couches and ottomans, high tables, regualr tables with chairs. Nothing better then to take your beverage up there and take in the sights. For those of you that gave a negative review about the views...please keep in mind in you cruising in a WORKING PORT. Industry is not commonly "pretty". Simply raise your eyes a bit higher and appriciate the Philadelphia Skyline. THAT is what is there for the viewing. We even got to watch a BIG storm move across the skyline. And if you're worried about the weather, don't. We watched this huge storm approach (which was stunning) and then it hit. That's ok, b/c simply went inside. Watched what nature's show from our window seat, did some dancing had a few drinks and throughly enjoyed ourselves.
It is pricey...but most attractions are and the memories we made will last a lifetime.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ahh so relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

You are greeted with a smile, get on the boat and sail away to entertainment and dining. For the price (check groupon!) a 3 hour cruise with a buffet, dancing, available drink purchase (coffee, water and iced tea are included) is an excellent way to relax or celebrate a birthday or anniversary. (I took my wife for our 2 year wedding anniversary) The staff sings for you (a valiant effort) the chef invites each table to the buffet so there is no ridiculous line, and there are 3 decks to relax on. The top deck has 3 sofas and high tables, and your waiter will find you wherever you are on the boat. The staff is friendly, the food is average but good enough and the beer menu is reasonably priced ($4 domestics and $6 *other), the DJ knows how to get people out of their chairs, the air conditioning works well and it is just an overall good time. (The scenery of the cruise is not great but what can they do about that?)

A definite steal at ~ 50 a person, why not make it a night out?

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit of Philadelphia also viewed

 

Been to Spirit of Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spirit of Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.