We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Philadelphia to your Saves list
Westin Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 South 17th St at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Super Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is what you would expect for a Westin hotel and has all the features you need for a business conference. Westin beds are amazing so that is a plus. The bonus is that the location is great and the staff is extremely friendly. From the valet to the baggage check, front desk, and concierge, everyone was helpful. A smile goes a long way.

Green Features: It's great! For a 2 night stay, there is no reason to waste resources on towels and sheets.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
7
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I would highly recommend the Westin Philadelphia. The rooms were great and the staff was awesome. I was there for a meeting and the meeting rooms were clean, private and the food was excellent. I give the whole operation 5 Stars!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenolden, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on May 9, 2015 for his birthday since we wanted to be near the restaurant where we had reservations at and not have to worry about having some cocktails and driving. We stayed for one night and we were each given complimentary cocktails for his birthday from the front desk. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice, as well as the concierge who was working that evening. I'm sorry I forgot their names but they were very nice and helpful. The concierge actually walked us to our destination to Two Liberty Place. She truly went above and beyond. We have been on cruise ships and all-inclusive resorts and have never experienced anything like this. The history of Philadelphia says it all on their fabric they used on their sitting chairs in the rooms. Such a nice touch. The location was perfect as we did some shopping on Walnut Street which was only two blocks away. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: It didn't really matter what the view was as we only slept in the room. The rest of the time we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Rooms small. Dated. Room service food not great and not good. Robes are flimsy and amenities lacking. Unlikely to stay again. I didn't check out the gym but there was little desire to spend more time than I had to here.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is located in a central location near Rittenhouse square in Philadelphia, but there is nothing particularly impressive about the hotel. Particularly problematic is the lack of a good restaurant in the premises.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights with family (small children). I was surprised to see some other reviewers have less positive experiences with the service. the protest was going on, but i cant hold that against the hotel. In general, starwood is very inconsistent from hotel to hotel and also with central reservations. I have gold status, and in many cases, have been appalled with the service - not here!

pros: newly renovated room was very nice! bathroom was decent, although not exceptional. service was really exceptional. from the front desk man who checked us in, the speed at which our refrigerator was replaced by the engineer, the bellhop/valet guys, housekeeping staff... Had a minor mix up at the restaurant and the manager (i think) was very accommodating and gracious. good location.

cons: gym was kind of so so, and i usually want a nice gym to give the 5 star rating.
bathroom was nice, but didn't have the "wow" factor I like for a 5 star rating. Although my review is of the hotel, the brunch in the hotel restaurant (winthorpe and valentine - amazing name!) was ok, but a bit underwhelming. there were no kids channels on TV which caused some minor problems. didn't receive requested turn down service.

Overall - very nice, comfortable room. I like the updated lobby and thought the service, on almost all fronts was exceptional.

Room Tip: maybe avoid the 4th floor because the gym is on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was there for work on a very busy part of their sporting calendar and the Westin could not have been better prepared and executed flawlessly. The staff was wonderful, the rooms were perfect, and the bar was a pleasant place to finish up the night, every night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPhGM, General Manager at Westin Philadelphia, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Greg V.,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Westin Philadelphia on TripAdvisor.com. It is wonderful to learn that you had yet another great experience.

Your loyalty to this hotel is incredibly valuable. Please let me know if I may ever be of assistance.

Be Well,

Ryan P. Sistare, CHA
General Manager
The Westin Hotel Philadelphia Center City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Westin Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Philadelphia

Address: 99 South 17th St at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of a city rich with history, The Westin Philadelphia is convenient to Liberty Place, upscale shopping, award-winning restaurants, museums and historical attractions, including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and the Constitution Center. Our hotel features 294 guest rooms with 19 suites, business center, fitness facility, and on-site dining at citygrange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.