We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best in the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Philadelphia to your Saves list
Westin Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 South 17th St at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the Best in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Westin in Philadelphia has become my "go to" hotel in the city for both business and pleasure. It has a great location, a staff that goes out of their way to please (especially the front desk and reservations teams), and a wonderful decor. The ownership of the hotel was wise not to tamper with the old Ritz Carlton feel and ambiance (this was Philly's Ritz property until 10-12 or so years ago).

The only minor caution I would mention is rates can be seemingly unpredictable, sometimes $175, sometimes closer to $300. But again, I think the hotel is worth it, and if anything were to go wrong I would have full confidence in the problem being fixed to your fullest satisfaction-something you sure can't count on at a lot of hotels.

Room Tip: Higher the better in my opinion; also note the hotel seems to host a lot of weddings so I'd ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I come to Philadelphia frequently for work and always stay at this Westin. Never had a bad experience at Westin Philadelphia, great customer service, rooms are very clean and spacious and the food at the bar is pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you not staying at the Four Seasons or the Ritz, this is the next best thing. I don't mean that this property lacks anything, because it doesn't. The rooms are fresh and well appointed. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The facility is clean and you feel good about being here. Whether it's business or pleasure, this is one of my go to spots when I stay in the city. No other properties at this price point come close.

Room Tip: The higher up you go, the quitter the room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We came to Philly to watch a Flyers vs Pens game, the hockey didn't disappoint and neither did the hotel. Friendly, courteous staff and a great location.
The parking was Streep but that is a given in any downtown hotel nowadays.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have been staying at this hotel for about a year and each of my experiences has been poor. The check-in desk is always overcrowded, the attendants are clearly forced to say certain things but they're clearly overworked. Sometimes a lone attendant is left to service a crowded, rather small waiting room. The most recent addition is this nonsense about going with the 'green' option, i.e. foregoing housekeeping altogether ostensibly to help the environment but clearly also to save the hotel money, and they can be quite pushy about it.

This is all par for the course and not necessarily worth writing about but last night, the straw finally broke the camel's back. I had to retire early as I had a conference call in my office the next day at 03:30 a.m. I put the do not disturb sign on the door, took the necessary medications and hit the hay at 19:30. At 21:40, someone from the front desk rang.

"Hello?"

"Hi Mr XXXX. This is XXXXX from the front desk. I just want to make sure you're enjoying your stay!"

I couldn't fall back to sleep until 01:30. The next day, zombieville.

Other complaints while we're at it - the $20 per night 'High Performance' internet speed is 5 mbps at the best of times, 2 at the worst, i.e. no streaming movies. The food is over-priced and not terribly good. I think I've stayed here at least five times and have had one good view from the window. Most views seem to overlook a mall atrium. There is a minibar but it's very expensive and has one of those motion detectors so that when you open the door, you are immediately in danger of being charged. The reward program isn't terribly exciting, at least as far as I can tell.

This hotel looks on the outside like a nice place but when you get inside, you are immediately aware that it's all about margins, margins, margins.

There's a place over by Independence Hall where I will be staying from now on. It is further from my office but worth it. If I was a tourist, I wouldn't go near this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a view or you will be 'viewing' the atrium
See more room tips
Green Features: Don't feel pressured to forego housekeeping! It helps them more than it does you.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPhGM, General Manager at Westin Philadelphia, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Travelling_30s,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Westin Philadelphia on TripAdvisor.com.

It is unfortunate to hear that you are under the impression that our hotel's sole purpose is "margins, margins, margins" when in fact, that the furthest from the truth.

As a leading brand in Starwood Hotels, we strongly believe that a successful business is based upon a proper balance of sustainability, community service, business acumen and most importantly - guest service.

Although you were not fond the Make A Green Choice program, hundreds of SPG member use this optional environmental platform each week to not only earn extra points, but reduce water and energy usage. In fact, Starwood hotels is the only major chain that offers this type of benefit to it's members.

In terms of the Refreshment Center, this is also an optional benefit to our guests and, contrary to popular belief, the sensors work on a 30 second delay.

As a follow up to your comments on the views, our Center City location is ideal for restaurants, local businesses, and the Convention Center. Unfortunately, we are connected to the largest office complex in Pennsylvania, so many of our rooms have views of the Philadelphia skyline or the adjacent shopping mall.

Finally, thank your feedback about the internet as this is a necessity to today's traveler. We are constantly improving our bandwidth capabilities to meet the needs of multiple devices.

Even though your review mentioned selecting another hotel, I hope that this response helps to clear any confusion and you will return to the Westin Philadelphia.

If I may be of any assistance, please take the liberty of contacting my office via the hotel's main phone number.

Be Well,


Ryan P. Sistare, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Westin is one of my favorite hotel chains - their rooms are always comfortable with a touch of luxe, and the service is nearly always outstanding. This facility is no different: if you have high expectations of a Westin, they will be met here. Treat yourself to a night (or several) in a Westin bed!

This location is also very central with easy access to most of the things you want to see.

Marathon and half marathon participants, this brings you about a mile from the start line.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in March 2015. Friendly front desk staff, rooms are OK but nothing special. Overall, an average experience with a slightly tired feel. Wouldn't recommend it, but fine for a one night stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Philadelphia

Address: 99 South 17th St at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of a city rich with history, The Westin Philadelphia is convenient to Liberty Place, upscale shopping, award-winning restaurants, museums and historical attractions, including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and the Constitution Center. Our hotel features 294 guest rooms with 19 suites, business center, fitness facility, and on-site dining at citygrange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westin Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.