We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - prompt service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin Philadelphia to your Saves list
Westin Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 South 17th St at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location - prompt service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night in mid February. Parking is convenient - mall parking below the hotel if you wanted to forgo the valet parking ($51). The separate elevators to the lobby and the rooms provide a measure of security. Prompt, courteous and efficient check-in - was upgraded to a suite as a Platinum member. No club lounge, which is a bummer - breakfast in the hotel restaurant which wasn't bad but a bit somber and lounge-like in its ambience (not what you imagine for breakfast). The suite was small - bathroom was out near the entrance. Best points: 1) location in the center of Center City, 2) efficient professional staff - a bit of face-recognition the next morning goes a very long way, so kudos!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    278
    108
    42
    25
See reviews for
134
261
62
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The first thing I always check when I arrive in a hotel is the bed and I found 3 pieces of hair in it. The dust is thick that it covers the top of the radio and headboard. Cleanliness is definitely not their strength. So, if your a clean freak....you may struggle. The heating vent made this loud cranking sound throughout the night, thank God that we were so tired from running around the city that we slept through it. The carpet is old and the hotel is dated in some areas, but the front desk staff is attentive and friendly. You are DEFINITELY paying for the location. I would stay there again bc of the location, but I will ask to be moved to another room next time if I have a repeat of those conditions.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The bed, the staff, the chic ambiance was terrific. My husband and I loved our stay at this Westin. My experience was perfect because the staff was friendly, but not overly so. Even housekeeping greeted us with a huge smile while we were leaving our room to check-out. Also, the oranges and apples in the hall for breakfast was a very nice touch. I stayed on a preferred guest floor, so I'm not sure if the fruits appear on every floor. Either way, I really appreciated it. Finally, the shower was really clean and the toiletries lovely. I really don't have a single bad thing to say about this hotel. I've heard the valet parking is expensive, but there's actually ample street parking away from the busier storefront streets (maybe a block or two from the hotel).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here with my family. It's a fantasic loaction for a hotel. Central to almost any thing you want to do. Great places to eat and drink and within walking distance to most tourist attractions. I would stay here again and again.The hotel staff was personable and friendly. Couldn't ask for a cleaner hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in the heart if Philly. Only about a mile walk to the historical district of the city. They only problem was the fact that the parking was literary $49/night for valet. The staff checked me in early without any problems. They gave me free wifi which was a great plus.

The bed was super comfy and the room was very nice. The usual Westin amenities and a very nice marble bathroom.

The staff was great with directions and over all the stay was great.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Centrally located in downtown Philly. Shopping complex below and public parking near by. Very friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and clean. Lobby area is modern and welcoming. Rates are very reasonable for location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The inside of the hotel room far exceeded my expectations. Very clean, extremely comfortable bed, excellent shower, and plenty of room for us to stretch out (biggest city hotel room I've ever been in). Walls are a little thin but with such a wonderful bed it is easy to fall into a deep slumber. Location is also incredible. What is lacking is a friendly and welcoming staff that is very much needed in the non ideal layout. (I kept wondering if we were just missing the main entrance.) I always say customer service is what make a place but this time I learned that a complete lack of it is what brings it down. It did not feel like home for the night. It felt like just a room to lay my head... but I will give it a high rating for that bed and therefore would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Philadelphia

Address: 99 South 17th St at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of a city rich with history, The Westin Philadelphia is convenient to Liberty Place, upscale shopping, award-winning restaurants, museums and historical attractions, including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and the Constitution Center. Our hotel features 294 guest rooms with 19 suites, business center, fitness facility, and on-site dining at citygrange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Westin Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.