We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel In Philly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Philadelphia to your Saves list
Westin Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 South 17th St at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Hotel In Philly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in the heart if Philly. Only about a mile walk to the historical district of the city. They only problem was the fact that the parking was literary $49/night for valet. The staff checked me in early without any problems. They gave me free wifi which was a great plus.

The bed was super comfy and the room was very nice. The usual Westin amenities and a very nice marble bathroom.

The staff was great with directions and over all the stay was great.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    293
    112
    42
    25
See reviews for
141
270
65
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Centrally located in downtown Philly. Shopping complex below and public parking near by. Very friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and clean. Lobby area is modern and welcoming. Rates are very reasonable for location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The inside of the hotel room far exceeded my expectations. Very clean, extremely comfortable bed, excellent shower, and plenty of room for us to stretch out (biggest city hotel room I've ever been in). Walls are a little thin but with such a wonderful bed it is easy to fall into a deep slumber. Location is also incredible. What is lacking is a friendly and welcoming staff that is very much needed in the non ideal layout. (I kept wondering if we were just missing the main entrance.) I always say customer service is what make a place but this time I learned that a complete lack of it is what brings it down. It did not feel like home for the night. It felt like just a room to lay my head... but I will give it a high rating for that bed and therefore would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to restaurants, shopping, and transportation options if you want to check out other areas of the city. Some parts of our room were starting to look just a little worn (eg, bathroom ceiling), but overall the room was completely fine/nice. We did have a bizarre un-requested wake-up call at some ridiculous early morning hour on both nights that we stayed, but we didn't mention it, so can't complain about how it was handled...but it should never have happened in the first place. Not the worst thing, and we always forgot about it when we were entering/exiting the hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Did a night in Philly and stayed at the Westin. Nice, upscale hotel. Excellnt service. Comfortable bed and great shower. Entrance on ground level, lobby on first floor -- a little funky. But overall, very nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed there for my bachelorette party with friends. We had several rooms and everyone loved their room. I was lucky enough to stay in a fantastic suite that was HUGE. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathrooms were impeccable with great showers. Every single staff member we encountered was incredibly nice! The location was perfect for shopping, site seeing, going out and dining too! I had been to Philly several times in the past but never stayed at the Westin. I absolutely plan on staying there the next time, however!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've stayed at numerous properties within the Westin brand, and this is definitely one of the nicest. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The bathroom had marble, which is a nice touch that I have not seen in other Westins.

Special recognition should be given to the bellmen, who were extremely friendly and helpful during check-in and check-out. Also, I highly recommend Richard, at the concierge desk. He responded to my requests in a courteous and punctual fashion, and he was able to satisfy my request at a very competitive price.

My only complaint was the clerk at the front desk. Although I appreciated his efficiency, he appeared rushed and did not make eye contact. Also, when I asked for the availability of an upgrade (I'm SPG gold), he did not appear to take my request seriously, denying my request without even researching it on his computer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Philadelphia

Address: 99 South 17th St at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of a city rich with history, The Westin Philadelphia is convenient to Liberty Place, upscale shopping, award-winning restaurants, museums and historical attractions, including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and the Constitution Center. Our hotel features 294 guest rooms with 19 suites, business center, fitness facility, and on-site dining at citygrange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.