We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Cozy Hotel Room for a One Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added Westin Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 South 17th St at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Comfy Cozy Hotel Room for a One Night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The inside of the hotel room far exceeded my expectations. Very clean, extremely comfortable bed, excellent shower, and plenty of room for us to stretch out (biggest city hotel room I've ever been in). Walls are a little thin but with such a wonderful bed it is easy to fall into a deep slumber. Location is also incredible. What is lacking is a friendly and welcoming staff that is very much needed in the non ideal layout. (I kept wondering if we were just missing the main entrance.) I always say customer service is what make a place but this time I learned that a complete lack of it is what brings it down. It did not feel like home for the night. It felt like just a room to lay my head... but I will give it a high rating for that bed and therefore would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    263
    100
    40
    21
See reviews for
129
247
61
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to restaurants, shopping, and transportation options if you want to check out other areas of the city. Some parts of our room were starting to look just a little worn (eg, bathroom ceiling), but overall the room was completely fine/nice. We did have a bizarre un-requested wake-up call at some ridiculous early morning hour on both nights that we stayed, but we didn't mention it, so can't complain about how it was handled...but it should never have happened in the first place. Not the worst thing, and we always forgot about it when we were entering/exiting the hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Did a night in Philly and stayed at the Westin. Nice, upscale hotel. Excellnt service. Comfortable bed and great shower. Entrance on ground level, lobby on first floor -- a little funky. But overall, very nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed there for my bachelorette party with friends. We had several rooms and everyone loved their room. I was lucky enough to stay in a fantastic suite that was HUGE. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathrooms were impeccable with great showers. Every single staff member we encountered was incredibly nice! The location was perfect for shopping, site seeing, going out and dining too! I had been to Philly several times in the past but never stayed at the Westin. I absolutely plan on staying there the next time, however!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've stayed at numerous properties within the Westin brand, and this is definitely one of the nicest. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The bathroom had marble, which is a nice touch that I have not seen in other Westins.

Special recognition should be given to the bellmen, who were extremely friendly and helpful during check-in and check-out. Also, I highly recommend Richard, at the concierge desk. He responded to my requests in a courteous and punctual fashion, and he was able to satisfy my request at a very competitive price.

My only complaint was the clerk at the front desk. Although I appreciated his efficiency, he appeared rushed and did not make eye contact. Also, when I asked for the availability of an upgrade (I'm SPG gold), he did not appear to take my request seriously, denying my request without even researching it on his computer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I will start by saying that i am a huge fan of Westin hotels mainly because of the Heavenly Beds and the Starwood points. So this had to keep up with my expectations and they did just that. Great location in Philly. The concierge and valet provided great service. I read the other reviews about the lack of hot water. I will say I experienced that at first but I just had to let the water run a while and it got hot. In walking distance to great restaurants, shopping and bars. Good bar in hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in the standard room as well as the suite over the past few years. Last night we had a nice corner room on the 4th floor but we asked to move because the heat was not warming the room. A new room key was promptly brought to us and we were moved to another room on the same floor. The room was a decent size with modern furnishings. It was also nice to have an in room coffee maker. The staff was extremely friendly. This is a very solid hotel and a great choice close to restaurants, shopping, and Rittenhouse Square.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Philadelphia

Address: 99 South 17th St at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Philadelphia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of a city rich with history, The Westin Philadelphia is convenient to Liberty Place, upscale shopping, award-winning restaurants, museums and historical attractions, including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and the Constitution Center. Our hotel features 294 guest rooms with 19 suites, business center, fitness facility, and on-site dining at citygrange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Westin Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.