We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added Westin Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 South 17th St at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location and very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hotel staff were very nice and accomodating. Starbucks coffee in the room and in the lobby was so nice for early risers. This was for a professional conference - food for breakfast and lunch was fresh and very well prepared as well. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but the hotel overall looks like it could use some more updating and lighting.

Location was great and conference room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, Manager at Westin Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Barb:

What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it! Please be sure to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    263
    101
    40
    21
See reviews for
130
250
61
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The service was lacking to be nice about it. I have stayed at many Westin destinations and this has been the WORST BY FAR. At the end of the evening we went to the bar for a drink. We were refused twice while an African American couple were enjoying several beverages during the multiple times we walked up and were refused. I will never visit this Westin AGAIN. You should treat everyone equally...and I say this as someone who is multi-ethnic. Get your act together. I expect more from this name as I'm sure most who stay at your places. I am very dissatisfied.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

hi, we will tell our friends & family to stay at the westin hotels because, its convience to downtown, historical sites. to be honest we will be back i wanted to take your bed home with me ha , ha, i personally enjoy the shopping marrathon restauant was fabulous, pretzell factory was great. the bell captains was dedicated to their post and very helpful

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, Manager at Westin Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Stephanie:

Thank you so much for your review, we will be sure to tell Khalil that you appreciated his service! We are thrilled that you would recommend us and cant wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff was very accomadating. Room was very nice, though I would request a street side room next stay. Great breakfast. I would probably stay here again. Hotel is close by the museum and the convention center.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Excellent choice for a hotel in city center, room was clean& staff was helpful
easy walking to nearby restaurants and shopping. Rittenhouse Square is just a few blocks away
took Amtrak from NYC very convenient

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Was just here for a 1-night stay, but experience was very satisfying. This property was originally opened as a Ritz-Carlton, and as such exhibits all the physical attributes of a 5-star hotel. Staff was great, room service arrived almost before I had put the phone down. Room was large with a huge desk, comfortable easy chair, large flat-screen TV, great bed and linens, and a spacious bath with double shower heads. Only "glitch" was their in-house phones were totally out, but at check-in I was provided a number to call from my cell, which was answered promptly. WiFi was free as I am an AT&T customer at home. Location is superb. Parking, as at most hotels, is expensive. Perfect for road warriors or a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, Manager at Westin Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thom:

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write it! We do apologize for the phone issues, I assure you we are back up and running!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, DE
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Parking was outrageous! You can save $10 if you self-park. What a joke! On top of the cost of the room, it's a rip-off. There was puke in the elevator one night, still on the door the next morning. Yuck. There's too much competition out there and people who really want our business. I wouldn't stay here again. They charged us more than what they quoted us over the phone.

Room Tip: Don't listen to the concierge for advice or recommendations. He was super nice, but we found be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, Manager at Westin Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
LuvmyLuLu:

We apologize for the parking prices, however as we do not own the parking lot we use, we have no control over the pricing.

We are very sorry that you were witness to another guest getting sick in the elevators, this was an isolated incident, our overnight staff was quick in the clean-up efforts and I assure this is not a normal occurrence.

I invite you to e-mail me with any further questions or concerns at lapasquini@westinphila.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Philadelphia

Address: 99 South 17th St at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Philadelphia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of a city rich with history, The Westin Philadelphia is convenient to Liberty Place, upscale shopping, award-winning restaurants, museums and historical attractions, including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and the Constitution Center. Our hotel features 294 guest rooms with 19 suites, business center, fitness facility, and on-site dining at citygrange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.