We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel, First Class Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin Philadelphia to your Saves list
Westin Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 South 17th St at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Class Hotel, First Class Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Was just here for a 1-night stay, but experience was very satisfying. This property was originally opened as a Ritz-Carlton, and as such exhibits all the physical attributes of a 5-star hotel. Staff was great, room service arrived almost before I had put the phone down. Room was large with a huge desk, comfortable easy chair, large flat-screen TV, great bed and linens, and a spacious bath with double shower heads. Only "glitch" was their in-house phones were totally out, but at check-in I was provided a number to call from my cell, which was answered promptly. WiFi was free as I am an AT&T customer at home. Location is superb. Parking, as at most hotels, is expensive. Perfect for road warriors or a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, Manager at Westin Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thom:

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write it! We do apologize for the phone issues, I assure you we are back up and running!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    278
    108
    42
    25
See reviews for
134
261
62
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethany Beach, DE
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Parking was outrageous! You can save $10 if you self-park. What a joke! On top of the cost of the room, it's a rip-off. There was puke in the elevator one night, still on the door the next morning. Yuck. There's too much competition out there and people who really want our business. I wouldn't stay here again. They charged us more than what they quoted us over the phone.

Room Tip: Don't listen to the concierge for advice or recommendations. He was super nice, but we found be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, Manager at Westin Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
LuvmyLuLu:

We apologize for the parking prices, however as we do not own the parking lot we use, we have no control over the pricing.

We are very sorry that you were witness to another guest getting sick in the elevators, this was an isolated incident, our overnight staff was quick in the clean-up efforts and I assure this is not a normal occurrence.

I invite you to e-mail me with any further questions or concerns at lapasquini@westinphila.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Arrived on 22nd December at 3.15pm for a 4 night stay over the christmas holiday. Initially dissappointed at check in, as room not ready, was informed about a 1hour delay. Desk staff gave a complimetary drinks voucher. After two hours of waiting in lounge area with two children went to reception and embarrassed staff advised room was now ready. Was offered a complimentary breakfast, I appreciate delays can occur and understood problems were with housekeeping issues. That said enjoyed our stay, the suite was excellent spacious and very clean. Even over the holiday time house keeping arrived each day with fresh towels and refreshments. All in all wonderful stay, attentive and happy staff with hotel in a lovely convienient location. Ordered a mini fridge and delivered within 15 mins. We accidently locked the coded safe and maintenance resolved straight away. Dont fiddle with or place own items in the mini bar, sensors note movement and charges accrue. Breakfast on day of departure was wonderful! We will return.

Room Tip: Choose a suite loads of space and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, Manager at Westin Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Cosworth:

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your understanding as well.

At times our guest might have to wait for a room, and we hope that your time at the bar did not feel too long!

Thank you again for taking time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I can't allocate 3.5 stars to a review, but if I could I would. I was satisfied with this hotel, we stayed in a suite high up in the building. It has an old-time feel to the decor - fireplaces, heavy wooden furniture and marble abounds - which while clean and well presented didn't really present any excitement. The room itself was very spacious and perfect for us. Location-wise, it's perfect - a short stroll to City Hall and everything else around it. The lobby being on the first floor wasn't ideal but then again wasn't a hassle to deal with either. A few drinks at the bar before heading out into town was a pleasure and having a genuine chat with the lovely lady working there was easy. The staff were overall quite okay, but the doormen were extra welcoming and friendly which is a very nice touch first thing in the morning or late at night. I can't really say anything too bad about the Westin Philadelphia, but it didn't leave me with any special feeling, which I look for when I'm staying at higher-end properties.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, Manager at Westin Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Zteu:

We are overall delighted that you enjoyed your stay, however I apologize on behalf of the staff that you did not get that "special" feeling you were looking for!

One of our core values here is to "Feel Special" and i would invite you back so we can do just that for you! Please e-mail me at lapasquini@westinphila.com should you have any suggestions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is in a nice location in Philadelphia. The lobby is beautiful, and the rooms are large. However, I was not happy with three things: 1) noise from adjacent rooms, including doors closing and water running, which started at around 5:30 am 2) oversized, too firm pillows, and 3) difficulty adjusting the water temperature from both the sink faucet and shower. The sink faucet was also leaking. It might have just been a bad room, but I'd think twice about coming back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, Manager at Westin Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Tiredeastcoaster:

I apologize that you had noise and room issues! We would certainly like to invite you back with hopes that we can change your opinion of our hotel.

Never hesitate to call our front office if you find you neighbors to be too loud, and you may call housekeeping as we keep a few types of pillows in house in case a guest is not satisfied with the Heavenly Pillows that come standard in each room.

Thank you for writing a review, we understand that you are busy and your feedback is truly a gift!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Westin, formerly the Ritz, is a classic hotel in a convenient area of downtown Philadelphia. The room was good sized and well furnished, although the beds may be too soft for some, and the conveniently located desk for your laptop had only one electrical outlet that was almost impossible to reach, and oddly dirty. They charge extra for internet (for most types of reservation), but at least that is disclosed when you reserve or ask at the front desk. They don't disclose the $2.22 charge for each toll free phone call. I'm pretty sure this is the most I've ever paid for "free" phone calls. Internet access is so fundamental now for business travelers that I don't understand why some hotels still refuse to include it (I don't think they charge for "free" channels on the TV, which I use much less these days than internet). But a greater than $2 charge for free phone calls that is not disclosed anywhere I could find is just too much. The room rates here are certainly not budget, so why do they need to nickel and dime?
Service was overall good, although not very friendly when asked about the phone charges.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, Manager at Westin Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Wilson:

I apologize that you felt nickeled and dimed, that is certainly never our intention! The fees for our wireless service unfortunately do not come form our hotel directly, but are a corporate brand standard!

I invite you to please share more of your experience with me directly at lapasquini@westinphila.com.

Thank you for taking time to write and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight while meeting with our financial advisor (next door, as it turned out). Really a very nice hotel, large and comfortable rooms with a touch of class overall. Amusingly, the bar/lounge is named "Winthorp & Valentine," a nod to fans of "Trading Places." Surly bar staff is the only fly in the ointment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, Manager at Westin Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Yog:

Thank you so much for taking a moment to write a review, feedback is a gift and we thank you for that! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay overall, and apologize for the gruff treatment you received from our Bar staff!

We have shared your comments with our Bar staff to ensure you and others are not treated this way again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Philadelphia

Address: 99 South 17th St at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of a city rich with history, The Westin Philadelphia is convenient to Liberty Place, upscale shopping, award-winning restaurants, museums and historical attractions, including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and the Constitution Center. Our hotel features 294 guest rooms with 19 suites, business center, fitness facility, and on-site dining at citygrange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Westin Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.