We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Enough for Frequent Flyers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters

Save Saved
You added Club Quarters to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Quarters
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1628 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #33 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Suffolk, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Enough for Frequent Flyers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Club Quarters have a world-wide following. We were able to see that flight crews on lay-overs frequent this lodging option. My only suggestion for the hotel is that luggage racks and fitted bottom sheets would be a small, but appreciated improvement. While parking was a bit awkward, the 30-35% discount was much appreciated. Close enough to walk to Logan Square and enjoy numerous city sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    318
    160
    70
    49
See reviews for
62
232
111
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pineville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was here on Easter weekend,nice clean room,free drinking water,free hot & cold drinks.snaks etc.Walkable distance from most.Chinatown where you can different oriental food is just couple of blocks.Cab is cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I want to give this property high marks, but a couple of things held me back. First, it's a great location in the heart of center city Philadelphia, with access to great dining, shopping and transit. The building has "old world charm" that's been updated for comfort. The lobby/"living room" is very inviting. What a great, peaceful space to relax and read the paper, work on the computer or watch a little on the big screen TV. All of the staff we encountered was friendly, welcoming and attentive. Check-in was a breeze. Our standard room was small, but very functional and the bed was very comfortable. All the spaces were clean and organized. The price was good too. Now, for the big annoyance. I booked this room for a one night stay 3 months in advance, online. I requested a high floor if possible and a room away from the elevator. I know these things can not be "guaranteed", but our room assignment could not have been further from these requests. We were put exactly across from the elevators and on the lowest floor possible, in the front of the hotel. Hence, a terrible night's sleep because of the close by street noise, and the elevator traffic. This was a shame because it spoiled an otherwise very good experience. The staff we encountered was all young and trying to be professional. How about asking if everything was OK with our room and asking how our stay was at check out? These are very basic and important questions to ask a guest after their stay, I think. Or, do they only care about Club members? Maybe we will try again sometime.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible, back of the building (not facing Chestnut Street) and away from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hi recently stayed at the Club Quarters over Easter Weekend. It is right in the middle of the city and so close to a bunch of great places to eat and fun bars. I went for a girls weekend we couldn't have picked a betters spot. Parking is a little expensive but they hotel gives you a 30% rebate for your parking ticket. I didn't eat in the restaurant but I hear it's really good. All the staff were nice and the free filtered water bottles were a nice feature for site seers not interested in buying lots of water bottles.

Good place for young people looking for a getaway weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Terrible, Terrible rooms. Apparently, if you book with Priceline they will put you in the worst room imaginable. No dresser, no tissues, no space, tons of noise. I would rate the room a 1 star and I am a very experienced traveler. Priceline got this one totally wrong. They moved us after the first night to a better room but it was still terrible. No windows, just skylights. 3.5 stars? I think not. Not even close.

On the other hand - the location was good, restaurant was incredible, and the manager was gracious and professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was one of the worst hotel check in experiences I had. I user priceline.com to book this hotel and found out this is indeed three and half stars hotel as per priceline.com. I checked in on 3/31 with a check out for 4/1 and room number # 615. At the desk, the executive mentioned that they have booked us for a club room. A club room is a miniature room having a common entry door with adjoining club room. We were shocked and extremely disappointed by the room. The TV was close to the bathroom and now way can e seen from the bed. In a nutshell, the size of the room was equal to the elevator hallway. Difficult for the bed to sleep a couple.

Talking about the experience. My wife and me came at the check in desk and were told about the room size and type. We were shocked to know that that they are not giving us the standard room (all priceline customers get at least a standard room). They asked for a $10 upgrade fee, which is completely unethical.

We entered the room and found the room unsuitable for two people to stay and went down and immediately returned the keys. Disappointed with Priceline for considering this hotel a three and half stars, which cannot provide a standard room to a couple.

We went down and asked about our dissatisfaction with room and asked at least provide us a standard room. They did not budge and we simply dropped the keys & moved out. My question to the management is if your hotel is empty since it is the Easter Sunday Night, why cant you provide better rooms? It is not a question of $10, but a major question mark to the customer service focus of this hotel. First time I am hearing better rooms remain unoccupied in favor of bad/small rooms.

Avoid staying here. It is not a friendly and customer oriented hotel.

Room Tip: ask for at least a standard room in case you end up getting this hotel using Name Your Price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel was in a great spot, close to train that got us to the Wells Fargo center and quite clean. My two complaints would be, they did not provide a hair dryer and the TV was too small and in an awkward place while trying to watch TV in bed. Yes, the room is small but that did not bother us because of our short stay and it appeared we did not have anyone staying on either side of us, so I can't really comment on the noise problem that some other guests have complained about.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters

Address: 1628 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Quarters 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 275 rooms located in the heart of the city’s business district and within walking distance of many cultural and historical attractions including Rittenhouse Square, Antique Row and the Academy of Natural Sciences. Adjacent to Liberty Place with over 70 unique boutiques and restaurants and easily accessible to the convention center. Its restaurant and bar, Davio's, serves delicious Northern Italian cuisine. Club Quarters is the best value hotel based on quality and prime location.Club Quarters provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Fridge and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 2 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 150 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities (self-serve). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Club Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Philadelphia
Club Quarters Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.