We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters

Save Saved
You added Club Quarters to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Club Quarters
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1628 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #32 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you'd like to stay in a walkable area of Philly and know you're in a special city, stay in the Club Quarters. Built in the 1920s, it's an interesting and groovy building which bears no resemblence to the millions of chain hotel rooms that all look the same. The rooms are small, but unless you plan to spend your entire visit inside a bedroom, it's a perfectly fine place to shower, sleep, and do some work (rooms have ample desk space, wifi, and lighting). The price is amazing for Center City Philadelphia and the location is safe and filled with shopping, restaurants, and public transportation. I will absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    310
    156
    67
    49
See reviews for
64
248
112
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel over the weekend, and were very disappointed. I had received good reviews from friends and clients staying at Club Quarters in DC and NY, so we thought we would give it a try. The first room we got was the most dismal and depressing hotel room I ever checked into in the US. There was one window which was hidden behind a wall, so that there was literally no light coming into the room, and there was only one wall sconce, making it a very dark room. It was also freezing in there and the thermostat didn't seem to work to warm up the room. We asked for another room, and was told that there were none other available unless we wanted to upgrade ....for a fee. I refused so they told me that if we wait an hour or so, they would move us into another room once it was clean. We agreed. Another or so later, they did move us to another room with lots of windows, and more light. So there was an improvement but it was freezing cold in there too.
However, we were surprised by the poor quality of the towels and amenities in the bathroom. The entire experience was depressing.
On the plus side, the room and bathroom was clean; the location was excellent; and they provide free bottled water on every floor and free water and coffee and tea in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

All seemed to be well, until I mentioned my concerns about excessive noise throughout the night. The clerk, did not seem to care about what my opinion was and simply blew me off. A nice hotel with a terrible desk staff, is a deal breaker.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the Club Quarters on business. The company I work for has a great rate at CQ so I decided to try it out. The hotel rooms reminded me of cruise ship cabins. The rooms are generally clean but nothing spectular. The beds are hard as a rock. If you just need a basic and functional hotel room that is studio style then this place is perfect. The location is fantastic being on Rittenhouse Square. There appears to be a very high end Italian restaurant connected to the hotel, but I did not eat there.

As for me, I travel often and I like comfort away from home. I will stick with the major hotel brands.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I work for a firm where we fly people in from all over the US. The past few months I have gotten nothing but complaints about this hotel. The air or heat is not working the walls are thin so thin that you can hear everything in the other rooms. At times it sounds like someone is trying to get into your room when they are trying to get in their own. Alarm clocks not working calling for a wake up call and the front desk forgets. One person had a problem with the air and had to put down an additional $200 to switch rooms. FYI to all you traveling to Philly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed in a "club size" room, which is smaller than your usual hotel room, but it's not tiny. It's lovely and very comfortable. It's an incredible value, particularly when you compare the price with other Center City hotels. Club Quarters is right in Center City, close to many good restaurants, an easy walk to many of the famous Philly tourist sites, and a very short walk to the train that takes you to the airport. Perfect for those who are traveling without cars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Better than I expected, great value and friendly staff. Rooms are nice, parking was convienient convenient and also a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters

Address: 1628 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Quarters 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 275 rooms located in the heart of the city’s business district and within walking distance of many cultural and historical attractions including Rittenhouse Square, Antique Row and the Academy of Natural Sciences. Adjacent to Liberty Place with over 70 unique boutiques and restaurants and easily accessible to the convention center. Its restaurant and bar, Davio's, serves delicious Northern Italian cuisine. Club Quarters is the best value hotel based on quality and prime location.Club Quarters provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Fridge and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 2 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 150 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities (self-serve). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Amex, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Club Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Philadelphia
Club Quarters Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.