We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great price and a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 10 more sites!
Club Quarters
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1628 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Havre, Montana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A great price and a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed in a "club size" room, which is smaller than your usual hotel room, but it's not tiny. It's lovely and very comfortable. It's an incredible value, particularly when you compare the price with other Center City hotels. Club Quarters is right in Center City, close to many good restaurants, an easy walk to many of the famous Philly tourist sites, and a very short walk to the train that takes you to the airport. Perfect for those who are traveling without cars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    295
    153
    68
    49
See reviews for
56
215
108
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Better than I expected, great value and friendly staff. Rooms are nice, parking was convienient convenient and also a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was the second time we stayed in Club Quarters in Rittenhouse Square. A great location for a great price. It was considerably cheaper than other options in downtown Philadelphia when we booked through a popular hotel website.

The rooms are modest, but (as you might expect for a hotel that caters to business travelers), they have a microwave, fridge, good desk space with a great desk chair. Our corner room was unusually light and airy for a hotel in center city. The higher floors offer great city views. There is fast free wifi everywhere (not like the Hilton we'd stayed in recently).

One drawback: It is noisy on weekends. Though we were on the 9th floor (facing busy Chestnut Street), street noise woke us up both nights. Light sleepers might do better with a room higher up and farther from Chestnut.

The do-it-yourself check in and out at lobby kiosks went smoothly -- the fastest check in we'd ever experienced. Staff were friendly and helpful. Parking was $24/day (with hotel discount) across the street at the Shops at Liberty Place. Get card validated at desk before heading to the lot.

If you like a fancy lobby and large room, need help parking your car or carrying your luggage, require the concierge to make your reservations, and generally crave lots of personal attention, the Club Quarters isn't for you. For us, it's just fine.

Room Tip: Lots of street noise at night on weekends. Rooms on higher floors away from Chestnut street may be m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent a very pleasant four nights in the Club Quarters and really enjoyed the first-class customer service and high quality facilities provided. Food was excellent, especially the filet steak. Restaurant and bar service was exceptionally attentive. General decor and hotel facilities were better than expected, particularly the complimentary bottled water dispensers (on each floor) and laundry room where you could wash and dry your clothes. The bed and shower were ok but the tiny room size (#1103) was a big disappointment - very claustrophobic despite high ceiling height. Hotel location is excellent to allow you to walk to most city attractions, numerous restaurants and do shopping at Macy's. Would definitely stay here again but only if offered a bigger room.

Room Tip: Ask to inspect rooms before committing to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed there over Labor Day weekend. Our room was not ready when we arrived, but we weren't terribly bothered by it. The hotel was at capacity and things got backed up - it happens. We just wandered around the area for a bit and came back. Anyway, the room was clean and comfortable. Smallish - yes - but we are from NYC so we are used to small, and it wasn't claustrophobic small or anything. I loved the cold filtered water that was available on every floor - all hotels should offer this! Overall, I thought this place was a good value for the money, and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
231 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Class and style on a budget. This hotel looks great from the outside and in. The rooms are not, however, what you'd might expect: the cheaper rooms are tiny, which is why the price is lower than other hotels in the area. Having said that, the rooms are finished nicely, and what you get is an efficient and comfortable space, not unlike many european hotels (which is the first thing I thought of when I entered my room). The only thing I could find fault with was that there is no ironing board in the room. Otherwise, everything works fine. The restaurant is gorgeous and offers a reasonably priced breakfast that is delicious (salmon as an option to sausage and bacon? Very cool.) 8/10

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is nice, safe, good amenities, and good value. I like the filtered water stations. Traveling on business, small room ok for a couple days, but very much a dorm style room. Small Euro type furniture and shower only bath, kind of tight if 2 people stay, but good enough and quaint.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters

Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Philadelphia
Club Quarters Philadelphia
Club Quarters Hotel
Address: 1628 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#46 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Quarters 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 275 rooms located in the heart of the city’s business district and within walking distance of many cultural and historical attractions including Rittenhouse Square, Antique Row and the Academy of Natural Sciences. Adjacent to Liberty Place with over 70 unique boutiques and restaurants and easily accessible to the convention center. Its restaurant and bar, Davio's, serves delicious Northern Italian cuisine. Club Quarters is the best value hotel based on quality and prime location.Club Quarters provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Fridge and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 2 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 150 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities (self-serve). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Amex, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Club Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Club Quarters to your Saves list