We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a blast!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smith Kids Play Place (Playground & Mansion)

Smith Kids Play Place (Playground & Mansion)
33rd St & Oxford St, East Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, PA (Fairmount Park)
215-765-4325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 555 things to do in Philadelphia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Smith Memorial Playground & Playhouse opened its doors in East Fairmount Park in 1899. Funded by Richard and Sarah Smith, the site was dedicated to the memory of their adult son, Stanfield. Smith’s beautiful, 24,000 square foot Playhouse was designed solely as a play space for children by one of Philadelphia’s most prominent late 19th century architects, James H. Windrim. The Playground is situated on its original historic landscape – 6 1/2 acres of open fields, wooded terrain, and sloped hills – and is home to the century old Ann Newman Giant Wooden Slide, a treasured play experience for generations of Philadelphia’s children, as well as other unique pieces of play equipment.Smith’s mission is to provide children 10 and under from diverse backgrounds with free and accessible one-of-a-kind play experiences that meet their physical, behavioral, and developmental needs.
Kingston, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Had a blast!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Everywhere you turn at Smith Kids Play Place, there's something new to explore and challenge. We stopped with our three year old on the way to the beach this year and found it was a great way to burn energy and make memories. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the park and the staff's helpful nature. Our daughter couldn't get enough of the wooden slide! She even enjoyed playing indoors on the train and in the little playhouse. Pack a lunch and sit under a tree. And pack a change of clothes if it's hot- the day we were there, they had an open fire hydrant to cool off in.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Neversink, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We visited in June 2012. It's amazing that this place was free. Very nice. Wish there were more places like this in smaller towns. What a concept....

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great playgrounds, interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

First of all, it's free. You make a suggested donation of $5 per family, or you don't if you can't afford it. The outdoor playgrounds are clean, spacious and nicer looking than any playground we've been to, however if it is hot out, which it was-you really can't take advantage b/c there isn't much shade, and all of the equipment was burning hot :(

The inside part, in the mansion was really cool. It just has a different kind of vibe b/c it's basically a mansion full of toys...kind of like a kid's dream! The bathroom was clean and so were the toys.

There is a huge wooden slide that at first my son was afraid of, but once he went down, he kept running back up the ramp to go again!

I took away one star b/c of the heat factor. There should be some type of awning over the playground, at least over the Tot Lot section! :)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the best playgrounds in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My father took me to Smith when I was a child, now I take my daughter. In the intervening time, the playground has gotten even better with superb upkeep and preservation. The building and grounds look great - especially given that it is over 100 years old! There is nary a piece of trash to be found on the ground. And the toys are in very good shape given the daily abuse they take. Some particularly good aspects to note:

There are interesting things for children of all ages. My daughter is 1 year old and there is plenty of stuff to do both in the mansion and in the playground. In fact, there is a large playground just for children under 5 years old, which guarantees age-appropriate equipment as well as not having to deal with hulking 10-year old kids running over the little kiddies.

The activities in the mansion are very interesting. There is a life-sized "house" full with furniture and mock appliances. There is the basement full of peddle cars to ride. There is a set up to make your own puppet show. And there is a great library where you can pick books off of the shelves. And to top it off, name me another place where your kids can play with awesome toys in a Victorian mansion. It's gorgeous. When my daughter gets a little older, I can't wait to have parties there.

As some other reviewers have likely mentioned, the surrounding neighborhood is not great, but the playground itself is safe and situated in the park, removed from the urban decay. Also, I love the rule: "No child without an adult - and no adult without a child".

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“the slide is timeless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

what a great place for kids, the wooden slide is worth seeing, fun place for such a bad neighborhood in the city

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Kids Play Place (Playground & Mansion) also viewed

 

Been to Smith Kids Play Place (Playground & Mansion)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smith Kids Play Place (Playground & Mansion), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.