We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasting menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talula's Garden

Talula's Garden
210 West Washington Square, Philadelphia, PA 19106
(215) 592-7787
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Talula's Garden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 3,484 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th between Walnut and Locust
Description: Behind the wrought iron gate, past the herbaceous patio and through the atrium is Talula's Garden, the warm and elegant Washington Square eatery from Aimee Olexy and Starr Restaurants. The modern menu, prepared with carefully-sourced ingredients and a light European touch, changes with the seasons. The artful cuisine, hospitable staff, sustainable spirits, and a focus on cheese make the dining experience here incredibly memorable.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasting menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Scored a last minute table and were not disappointed. Wonderful food, fantastic service - great night!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    105
    43
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wayne,pa
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Wonderful brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have had brunch here twice in the last few months and both times the food was excellent. The portions are large. Drinks were exceptional. Service is very good as well. I used the valet parking both times which I recommend if you are driving. You can leave your car for several hours.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Talula's Garden: good, but once is enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Talula's Garden certainly has an impressive location, right on Philadelphia's historic Washington Square. But once inside, the restaurant's eclectic décor seems a little jarring compared to the elegant buildings that surround it. Also jarring is the noise level, which will keep me from returning. The food was good, but the wine list, in my opinion, was very pricey. A lovely young man waited on us, but he seemed a little distracted (or stretched too thin) so some our food arrived cold. If you can manage to go when it's not too busy (smaller crowd, less noise, more attentive wait staff) you might have a great meal. We went mid-week, so good luck.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food in a wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We met friends who live in the Philadelphia area for dinner. They recommended that we meet at Talula's Garden, since it was one of their favorite restaurants in the city. The atmosphere was wonderful from the moment we entered the courtyard of the outdoor dining area until the moment we left. We had a rather secluded corner booth for our group of 5. We started our meal with cocktails and the World Travel Cheese Platter which was a collection of 8 International cheeses arranged from mildest to sharpest in taste and described in detail by a cheesemonger. I found it to be a wonderful start to our dinner and I'm not particularly food of cheese. I had Speghetti and Crab which was a unique pasta dish, unlike any I had previously. My wife had Potato Gnocchi in a fresh basil creme sauce. We both found the food impeccably prepared and the portions quite generous. The service was attentive and efficient without being intrusive. The food, atmosphere, and service made for a truly wonderful meal with our friends. My wife and I were very impressed and left believing that our friends could not have chosen a better place for our reunion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great venue, okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Booked for the garden, but got shuttled to a table in the bar area. Next time we will hold our for the garden. Nice looking crowd, dressed up and looking pretty and handsome. Lots of young couples on dates, and it is very nice and impressive looking space. We had a nice waitress, who patiently answered our questions. Tried the scallop special, the swordfish and the steak. The food was OK, nothing impressive or "fantastic". The steak was truly pedestrian, with little flavor or spices, served with some too old asparagus spears and part of a mushroom. The swordfish was undone and hence had none of the flakiness associated with properly prepared swordfish.

This is the worst best place I have eaten at in Philadelphia. There are easily a dozen places with better food. That said, if I was trying to impress a date I would go to Talula's

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talula's Garden also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Talula's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talula's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.