We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great energy, great service, super cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talula's Garden

Talula's Garden
210 West Washington Square, Philadelphia, PA 19106
(215) 592-7787
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Talula's Garden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th between Walnut and Locust
Description: Behind the wrought iron gate, past the herbaceous patio and through the atrium is Talula's Garden, the warm and elegant Washington Square eatery from Aimee Olexy and Starr Restaurants. The modern menu, prepared with carefully-sourced ingredients and a light European touch, changes with the seasons. The artful cuisine, hospitable staff, sustainable spirits, and a focus on cheese make the dining experience here incredibly memorable.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great energy, great service, super cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely brunch there. The kitchen was having a technical problem and staff bent over backwards to ensure we were compensated for any delays. Great food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    96
    40
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very cute atmosphere & tasty food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very cute place....nice outdoor seating in good location in Philly close to everything. We had breakfast and it was all very tasty and artisan, farm to table style which we love. I'd definitely be a regular if I lived in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very good, lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

While we wish we could have eaten outside, we were warned of rain by the hostess. Luckily, we heeded her advice and sat indoors as it rained 45 minutes into our meal. It really does have a lovely outdoor garden area though. We started with a cheese plate that was delicious, followed by 2 equally yummy appetizers, the carrot soup and a fresh tomato salad. I think we all agreed that the cheese and appetizers were better than out entrees and vegetable sides. Everything was very fresh but the entrees did seem a little on the bland side. We had 2 of the fish entrees, the bouillabaisse, and the chicken. We somehow managed to save room for desserts. The desserts were very good and a nice ending to the meal. Our server was very nice and I believe that at one point the owner even refilled our water glasses. We would recommend it to anyone who enjoys fresh food and is heading to Philly. Even if you only had one of the many cheese plates and dessert, you would be getting a real treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I loved the food the service and the decor. I got the trout amandine and my husband got the pan-seard chesapeake striped bass. Both were delicious. We also tried the creamed kale and the roasted mushrooms. They have a great cheese selection so we may go back just to try some of them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very, very good 1st time experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a five o'clock reservation on a Sunday evening and were seated at a great indoor table just before 5 (it was windy with the threat of rain outside, boo) Friendly, excellent staff who seem to really enjoy working at Talulah's and knew their menu inside and out, explaining items in great detail (a big like). We had the International Cheese Board and the Cucumber salad as apps. Though I like cheeses and cucumber as much as the next guy, I was preparing for a ho hum beginning. Wrong. The cucumber salad was fresh, perfectly ripe and fantastic (with feta cheese and pine nuts amongst other ingredients). Layers of different tastes made this extraordinary. The cheese board had a delicious selection of exotics (including one infused with caramelized onion, wow). Actually wow to all of them. As my wife and I enjoyed the cheeses, we contemplated if it would be wrong to order again for dessert! (But didn't, at the end, we had no room even for dessert) Our entrees were the lamb with polenta and the cod, which we both felt was perfectly cooked and seasoned. Both entrees were blended with various accouterments (I'll run out of room if I try to explain, so check the menu, very descriptive). Keeping with the cucumber theme, my wife raved about The Dreamer and I raved about The Wanderer, so unique I think because of the coriander. The bottom line was we met friendly knowledgeable staff and enjoyed unique delicious food and drink. Well done!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talula's Garden also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Talula's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talula's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.