We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre food, limited wine selection” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baby Blues BBQ

Baby Blues BBQ
3402 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3404
215-662-0330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Baby Blues BBQ is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #310 of 3,724 restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: We are in walking distance to 30th St Station. We are 1/2 a block away from the "EL", so you can travel to all Philly sports stadiums within minutes.
Description: This will be the fourth edition to the Baby Blues BBQ family and the first on the East Coast. We will be serving barbecue dishes from multiple American traditions.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, limited wine selection”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I ate there for lunch. The place looked nice, the server fine, but a the food was a disappointment. The brisket was over done, the pulled pork not much better. the wine list awful. The fried were good. Granted, there weren't that many choices which seemed better, but still it seemed to be a wast of money. We will not return

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    16
    15
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My Barbecue Fix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'm from Louisiana and have been craving some good bbq for a while, so my friend and I went to eat a late lunch here. The place is in university city (UPenn's campus) and is pretty comfortable inside. We got the lunch special which is a combination type platter with brisket, pulled pork, and smoked link with cornbread and a choice of side (I got the baked beans). It was all terrific - they have several choices of sauces on the table to suit your barbecue sauce needs (from spicy to mild to sweet). The price was great, portions were substantial, and waitstaff were friendly. It was great!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ma
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“Close to UPENN Campus Every Seat Full”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Definitely a bustling place. Every seat full yet service was quick and efficient. Close to UPENN campus easy walk. Servings generous.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Visited Baby Blues. BBQ during a conference at the Sheraton. The atmosphere was really laid back. The menu consisted of everything you are accustomed to seeing at a BBQ restaurant (pork and beef ribs, chicken, sausage, brisket, filled pork). I ordered the 1/2 chicken w/ fried okra and mac and cheese. There are about 5 sauces you can choose from ranging from mild to extra hot. The chicken was good and not dry, okra was ok, and the mac and cheese was on point. The service was kind of slow , but overall not bad.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Tori is the best waitress on planet earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The food was great...beyond great. Tori was the best waitress I have ever seen. Lovely person...lovely personality. The pulled pork sandwich was great and I liked the combination fries and sweet potato fries. My daughter had the catfish platter and devoured it all. If I am ever in this area again...I will definitely return,

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baby Blues BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Baby Blues BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baby Blues BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.