We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all Cosis are equal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cosi

Cosi
325 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2614
215-399-0214
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #686 of 3,785 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Restaurant details
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Not all Cosis are equal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

In Sepember Cosi changed the menues in 2/3 of the locations in downtown Philadelphia. The "new menu" has really turned me off. Less bagel flavors and no "bundling of coffee" for breakfast. Plus no "combo" half sandwich and soup (or salad). Service with new menu is muich slower. I now walk 6-10 blocks further just to go to the few locations (9th and Chestnut is the best) that still offer the old menu and 9th and Chestnut is cleanest location by far. (Avoid 4th and Chestnut if you can. It is not clean)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    22
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fresh and fast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We ate here every morning since we were staying at a near by hotel for jury duty. It was always fresh and tasty! I can only speak for breakfast but the rest of the menu looked great too. Plus I like that they have things labeled with calories as well as gluten and vegetarian .

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Convenient Location, Great Value, Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was excited to see a Cosi just down the street from the hotel. I love their signature salad. The food is healthy and the quality is consistent. I love their Cosi bread.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average food, below average customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food at Cosi was okay, both for breakfast and dinner, but the order-taker and the cook could improve their customer service skills.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We used this location for breakfast on a couple of occasions whilst staying at a nearby hotel. It had some outdoor seating which we used and it allowed us to watch the world go by. The comings and goings to the kiosk and the horse drawn tours for example but also people just getting on with their lives. The food was fine, as was the coffee and we remember the square bagels and helpful staff. It wasn't clear where orders were taken. This could be made clearer. There was ample indoor seating for the time of day. Staff delivered our freshly cooked food to the table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosi also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Cosi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.