We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating your way through China Town in Philly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Free Tours by Foot

Free Tours by Foot
20 North 3rd Street, Unit 201, Philadelphia, PA 19106
+1 267-712-9512
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 122 Activities in Philadelphia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Free Tours by Foot is pleased to present the first, "name-your-own-price "Philadelphia tours. These unique and entertaining tours will take you through many of Philly's most interesting neighborhoods. We offer a wide range of sightseeing tours to help you get to know Philadelphia.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eating your way through China Town in Philly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Even though I live in suburban Philadelphia, I had never taken a food tour of China Town prior to my recent experience. Jenn Hensell was a fabulous guide, and her knowledge of the history, the Asian culture, and her familiarity with many of the little cafes and food shops brought the entire section of Center City to life for me. The tour culminated at a great find of a cafe, where we enjoyed various Dim Sum dishes. Having lived in SF in my lifetime, I was really happy to find the tight-knit Asian community doing well in Center City, and having access to real Chinese food, such as I remember from the years I lived near China Town, in SF. Kudos to Jenn for taking me on such a fun adventure, and for pointing me in the direction of such great goodies. And, the trip to the Asian grocery store was really fun, as I bought some excellent ginger tea, at a fraction of what I would pay out here in the suburbs. Thanks again, Jenn!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    27
    5
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Philly free walking tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went on the free walking tour with guide Chris Kuncio. It was fantastic. We only had one day in Philly to take in all the history and so decided to do one of the walking tours. So glad I chose this one. They work for tips and he deserved a big one. Great insight into the area and saw all the highlights and sights. Very knowledgeable and friendly

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great day in Phily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I went to Phily for a day trip on our anniversary. Neither of us had been to Phily and Free Tours by Foot was a perfect intoduction and jumping off point. The walk was easy but hit all the historical highlights. Our tour guide, Chris, was excellent. He was personable, engaging, knowledgeable and really great ambassodor for the city of "brotherly love".

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We saw everything that had anything to do with any historical significance. Our tour guide, Matthew, was hilarious and he knew a lot about the history and made it fun while making me want to learn more. Huzzah!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for your first day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The 4 hour tour is amazing. It gave me such a good overview of the city. It doesn't feel rushed because it is 4 hours, but you can definitely still go back to some of the places to you see to enjoy them more! The guides are amazing too!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Tours by Foot also viewed

 

Been to Free Tours by Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Free Tours by Foot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.