We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service, supber food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dandelion

The Dandelion
124 South 18th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
215-558-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dandelion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 18th and Sansom
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Superb service, supber food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

When my US colleagues suggested going to a British-style pub I was sceptical. Coming from London, we've got a fair few pubs to compare. From the outside, I wondered what to expect as it's quirky exterior didn't look that appealing. Inside though, there was a nice atmosphere. The serving staff were friendly, helpful and polite. I opted for the roast chicken with bubble and squeak - and have to say, probably the best roast chicken I've ever had! If you find yourself in Philly, make sure you try out this restaurant - it's well worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    213
    28
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

First time trying Dandelion - the food didn't let us down, however the prices are a bit steep for what you get. I know, it's a Starr restaurant, but Fish N Chips shouldn't cost $19.75, especially when you get just 1 piece of fish. That said, we knew what to expect with the cost so we were prepared. The Fish N Chips were awesome. Probably the best i've ever had. Fiance ordered the Skate which was again, a pretty small portion, but was very good. We also ordered the Curried Fish Cake (crab and cod) app which was very good, but again, we only got 3 very small (smaller than a golf ball) sized cakes. At least give us 4 so we can each eat 2!! The beer choices were solid. I tried the English Cask which was very good, but again pricey ($10 for a pint!!). Our server was very attentive and helpful. I loved the dark pub atmosphere too. Overall, no complaints other than the cost to food size but that seems to be expected with most Starr restaurants.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips without a doubt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Have had fish and chips in a few different places in the Philadelphia/South Jersey area, as well as in London, and have to say that the Fish and Chips here is so far the best. Well, as good as anything I've had in London. In fact, they were good enough the first time, I had them again on our second time to eat at Dandelion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This restaurant provided a great variety for veggie lovers out there! I had a celery meal that at first thought seems kinda... weird... but after trying it, I LOVED IT! The atmosphere was great! It had a British feel and the furniture is from a British auction. Loved the service, the theme and ambiance. HIGHLY recommended!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice birthday lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I've been wanting to try this place for quite some time now. I believe it was featured on tv for their famous fish and chips. So of course I had to try. It was well worth the wait. Perfectly flaky and golden fish with thick cut potato fries. We also tried the mussels, deviled eggs, & crab cake balls. All were delicious. Can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dandelion also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to The Dandelion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dandelion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.