We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay your respect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Benjamin Franklin's Grave

Benjamin Franklin's Grave
5th Street/Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA (City Center East)
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 281 attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Cemeteries
Attraction Details
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pay your respect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Benjamin Franklin's Grave is located in a corner of a small cemetery. One can pay a $2 fee and enter, or you may see it from the street, take a picture between the bars and move on… Franklin’s grave is right next to his wife. Whatever one chooses to do, it is definitely a quick but worth a visit stop during a tour of historical sites.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    26
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Go Flip a Penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Historical! Definitely visit one of the Founder's graves to pay your respect! Although it is fenced in, you can clearly view the grave near the sidewalk and flip a penny for good luck! :) Pictures can be taken between the iron bars...Doesn't really obstruct the view.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Part of a Tippler Tour of Phila brews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

One of the stops of the Tippler tour was Christ Church cemetery wher Ben Franklin is buried. They broke out the Yards Tavern Spruce which was Ben's recipe and we toasted to Ben over his grave. The keeper's tour of the place was amazing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Christ Church Cemetery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This spot is directly across the street from the US Mint, and it is a must-see while in Philadelphia. There is a nominal fee to enter the cemetery itself -- I think it's $2 or so a person. But I think that's OK to prevent just anyone from wandering around this cemetery, with its very old (and very fragile) tombstones. At any rate, it's definitely worth the price of admission. Franklin's grave (which can be viewed from the sidewalk outside through the fence, for those who don't want to pay) is compelling, especially the epitaph on the nearby pillar which he wrote for himself as a young man. But the other graves in the cemetery are nearly as interesting -- besides Franklin, there are 3-4 other signers of the Declaration of Independence interred here. Be sure to stop in for a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Army/Navy Game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had friends in from out of town for the Army/Navy Game and one of the top 10 areas I always recommend to out of town guests is this. They are amazed when they read through all of the accomplishments Ben had in his life and this gives each person inspiration that if a chubby, bespectacled, and ordinary man can achieve such greatness in life, so can we. Very inspirational.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjamin Franklin's Grave also viewed

 

Been to Benjamin Franklin's Grave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benjamin Franklin's Grave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Benjamin Franklin's Grave to your Saves list