We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good BBQ, but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Percy Street Barbecue

Percy Street Barbecue
900 South St, Philadelphia, PA 19147 (City Center East)
215-625-8510
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Percy Street Barbecue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #214 of 3,758 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Percy & South Streets
Description: Percy Street Barbecue features dry-rubbed brisket, ribs & chicken. Meats are wood-smoked in our authentic barbecue pits & served with classic sides. A full service bar offers 100+ craft beer cans, bourbon, cocktails & a vintage jukebox. Eat in or take out. Now open for lunch on Saturday and Sunday!
South Jordan, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really good BBQ, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The brisket is awesome. Definitely get the fatty brisket, it melts in your mouth. The portions were on the small side, but everything was really good. I tried the sweet potato mash, cole slaw, potato salad (with bacon!) and the collard greens and all were good, except the greens could have been cooked a little more. Huge beer list. The cans are a nice touch. Service was ridiculously fast (since the bbq is already made). I'd go back every week if it weren't so expensive!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    38
    12
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to Philly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My son and I took a break from our 30 mile bike trip to have some bar-b-q. We had never been to Percy Street Barbecue and just happened to stumble upon while biking down colorful South Street. What a treat!!!

The friendly atmosphere was the first welcome, complemented by the "bubbly" hostess and wait staff. We ordered deviled eggs, mac and cheese and then main courses. All were plentiful and well priced. For someone who enjoys trying different beer varieties, this is beer heaven!

All in all, a very enjoyable and tasty discovery.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Fun atmosphere to get some great BBQ. Everything we tried was delicious in a great casual atmosphere. And the servers were efficient and very friendly.
Looking forward to going back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This was the only place serving sandwiches on a Saturday afternoon, so I bought the pulled pork sandwich. What a nice surprise. The pork was good and tasty. The sauce was like nothing I've ever tasted, somewhat BBQ, somewhat vineger with some kind of hot kick; exquisite. I've traveled the south and enjoyed "real" bbq, but this was my first time having kale on the sandwich. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue in a Fun Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Percy Street Barbecue had wonderful, flavorful meat served with yummy sides. We tried the brisket and the ribs (I preferred the ribs), as well as the sweet potatoes (no marshmallows on top), fries (very nice), cole slaw (tasty) and macaroni and cheese (whoa....very good).

My hubby tried one of the many bottled beers. He told the waiter a mainstream beer he enjoys and the server's recommendation based on that preference was spot-on.

We didn't try any dessert, but I saw a few going by and we definitely want to make room the next time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Percy Street Barbecue also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Percy Street Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Percy Street Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.