We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barbuzzo

Barbuzzo
110 S 13th St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4532
215-546-9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Barbuzzo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sansom
Transit: Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station
Description: Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have been here several times and the pizza is always incredible. My favorite menu item is the ricotta and dipping grilled rustic bread into this simple but tasty appetizer. The pasta can be a little salty for my taste. The salads are great. The last time we were there it was uncomfortably roasting hot inside- big crowds with an open oven mean they should keep up the AC if needed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    130
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant lives up to its good reviews. The sheep's milk ricotta with grilled bread is smooth as silk and was a great opening snack. All the fish entries were delicious, especially the grilled swordfish. The desserts did not disappoint either. The salted caramel budino is worth breaking your diet for.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Spot close to the Arts District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very Good Tapas and service. A little loud and slow but the wait was worth it. If the weather allows, sit outside and take in the neighborhood ambiance. We made the mistake of sitting inside and the noise level is a bit high.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Food excellent, two of us had about six dishes, all stellar. Very busy so sat at bar which was great chance to watch open kitchen perform (very well). Noise level was a bit high if that matters to someone (not to us). Price point very reasonable. Stuck to beer (hot in mid August) so can't speak to wine list or mixed drinks (don't even recall if they had them). Highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Still Craving...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant is located in one of my favorite spots in the city. My friends and I ordered the cheese board, Asparago Pizza (a MUST), Margherita Pizza (average), Fava and Preserved Lemon Arancini (very good), Casarecce Pasta (eh, could have done without) and of course, BUDINO! I am still craving the Asparago Pizza. I cannot wait to come back for another serving and to try out more menu items.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbuzzo also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Barbuzzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbuzzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.