We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word...lame” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin Institute

The Franklin Institute
222 N. 20th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)
215-448-1200
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Franklin Institute like an insider
Special Offer
$72*
and up
Philadelphia CityPass
Ranked #22 of 555 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in honor of America’s first scientist, Benjamin Franklin, The Franklin Institute is one of America’s oldest and premier centers of science education. The museum is known for blockbuster exhibits, a bevy of interactive ongoing exhibitions, and one-of-a-kind theatrical experiences. Today, the Institute continues its dedication to public education and creating a passion for science by offering new and exciting access to science and technology in ways that would dazzle and delight its namesake.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Goshen, CT
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“In a word...lame”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Many exhibits were broken or non functional. The ones that did work were boring. Minimal interactive stuff. Very much geared to 10 and under crowd, and only if they're easy amused. Tweens and above will be bored. Spent $15 on parking and $32 on entrance, for a 45 minute visit that was not fun at all. Definitely would not recommend. Needs big time updating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    288
    120
    66
    40
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I'm 61, and felt like a kid again. A must if you have kids, lots of fun things for kids to do. Also lots of things for adults too! Allow a few hours at least, I learned a lot and the docents were great.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best science museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Franklin Institute is amazing. Yes, a few of the attractions are slightly run down as other reviewers have mentioned. But based on the limited budgets that museums have, I was impressed and happy with the interactive and interesting exhibits.
Be sure to allow a lot of time. I believe our family could have spent 8 hours here, including at least an hour in the gift shop. And be sure to visit the "stands" where museum employee is doing something interactive. Our kids really enjoyed the interactive puzzles and number games on the second floor.
Our only issue at all was with the parking. The underground parking garage fills up quickly and we had to find street parking, which is a little difficult when you aren't from the area. But the Franklin Institute is a MUST DO for kids, and maybe also for adults, if you are in the Philly area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Spy Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a wonderfully interesting 2 plus hour spent at this exhibit! While it was expected to be good, my husband and I were really impressed not only with the quantity of spy "stuff" on display but the variety of it. Great experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I Spy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I Spy exhibit was very interesting, I thought they only used this stuff in James Bond Movies. The secret world of espionage with double spies, tiny cameras, all kinds of stuff what a great exhibit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Franklin Institute also viewed

 

Been to The Franklin Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin Institute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.