We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must in {Philly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sampan

Sampan
124 S 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
215-732-3501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sampan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Walnut
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“a must in {Philly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food is great. The chef menu is the best. Excellent for couples, friends, family and couples. Located in the heart of the city close to good bars and beer places

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    63
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Asian fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Make it for happy hour,and get a seat at the bar. Try the selection of appetizers which make a meal. This place has a great vibe. The service is excellent and food comes out of the
kitchen fast, so be prepared to eat. Would definitely go back

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fried Rice is to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled on Sampan one night after happy hour. It's a noisy busy place, and usually crowded. This night we did not have a reservation and took a seat at the open kitchen bar. The menu is set up in a tapas style format which is awesome to get to try a variety of foods. The fried rice is absolutely to die for. They top the piping hot dish with a sunny side up egg and cut it on top table side - AMAZING. Their edamame dumplings are delicious, and save room for dessert. They always change up neat little additions, one night night we had captain crunch mini ice cream cones, OMG. This place rocks; drinks are good, food is amazing, service is great. Highly recommend-but one caution-there is a lot of cooking going on, so the scents are amazing, but the closer you sit to the kitchen, your clothes and hair absorb them, you'll carry that scent along with you for the night....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice and interesting choices - friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Any Center City restaurant that can accommodate a single traveler on a very busy Saturday evening with delicious food deserves a great review !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Excellent meal but we rushed through it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Yum. This was one of the best meals that I'd had in months. The sea bass was terrific, the mushroom salad was out of this world, the broccoli was divine. In a word, there was nothing that I did not like and my mouth and stomach were very happy. My only complaint is that it was so incredibly loud that having anything resembling a conversation was nigh onto impossible. I understand that younger people think that loud in a restaurant means "a happening place" but research has shown that people will have a less favorable impression of food if the atmosphere is aversive. The noise level was very aversive and we just rushed through the meal so that we could get outta there and give our ears a rest. The management might try to invest in some sort of noise abatement because we would have stayed longer to linger over drinks and spent more money if it was amenable to conversation and savoring the excellent dishes. Their loss. It was a Saturday night so we are going to try them during the week and try early reservations next time. It might be a more pleasant meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sampan also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Sampan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sampan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.