We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent way to enjoy Philadelphia neighborhoods/history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mural Arts Program of Philadelphia - Mural Tours

Mural Arts Program of Philadelphia - Mural Tours
901 Market Street, 2nd Level, Philadelphia, PA 19106
+1 215-925-3633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 122 Activities in Philadelphia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come see our amazing collection of murals and other public artwork! The City of Murals is now available for guided tours all year long. Please check our Tour Calendar to see the latest offerings open to the public. A mural tour is a world-class experience for the whole family and any group.All mural tour proceeds benefit Philadelphia Mural Arts Program initiatives. We appreciate your support, please join us soon!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Philadelphia suburb
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent way to enjoy Philadelphia neighborhoods/history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of enjoying a bike tour through the fairmount section of Philadelphia. Our guide, Benjamin, was wonderful! He had our safety in mind at all times while answering all of our questions. His passion for our wonderful city and the murals showed in every word from his mouth. We would do another tour in a heartbeat! This was interesting,safe, and a fun way to see the nooks and cranies of Philadelphia (not to mention good exercise)....and you don't have to be a mountain biker or professional type bike rider to enjoy this tour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    7
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Mural Arts walking tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

An excellent expenditure of time is to take a walking tour of the mural arts. Although a bit more expensive than I would have thought ($17/person), we were most fortunate to have been the only two persons to sign up for the tour we took. Our guide Mary (a psychiatric nurse by trade) was extremely knowledgeable about the individual murals and their backgrounds as well as the background of the entire program. She gave us an important insight into the role this program has in supporting inner city young people and their families. Absolutely worth the several hours.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“best thing to do in Philly - enjoy the free murals everywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is my favorite thing about the city where I live: there are more than 3000 murals so we are always turning a corner and discovering a new mural (or seeing an old friend). Try the "Mural Mile" in center city - a self-guided walking tour with cell phone info at each stop. Favorites are the multi-media murals that incorporate mosaics and weaving, and the murals (many of them) that involved communities of various kinds in their creation. So many to discover!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mural Arts Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Did you know Philadelphia has more wall murals than any other city in the world? It is estimated that a new wall mural is put up in Philadelphia almost every three days! My girlfriend and I did the walking mural arts tour on Saturday, April 28, 2012 and really enjoyed it. Our tour guide gave us the history behind all the murals and explained it is actually better to view the murals on a cloudy day verses a sunny day so you can see the colors better.Our feet were tired at the end of the tour so we treated ourselves to a pedicure at the Nail Bar, and dinner at Serafina, both located off of Rittenhouse Square. Culture, shopping ,pampering and bistro dining = perfect day.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Project”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

As part of a mural tour we went to the mural arts programme in the mall. One of the artists gave us a talk about the mural they were currently completing about suicide. We also had an offer to do some painting of the mural which would have been a lot of fun but we didn't have the time to do it. If you like painting or want to leave your mark on Philadelphia - go here!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mural Arts Program of Philadelphia - Mural Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mural Arts Program of Philadelphia - Mural Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mural Arts Program of Philadelphia - Mural Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.