We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Introduction to the City!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Awfully Nice Tours

Awfully Nice Tours
916 Waverly Street, Philadelphia, PA 19147 (City Center East)
215-280-3746
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 79 activities in Philadelphia
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Awfully Nice Tours provides the only personal driving tour service in the Philadelphia region. Think of us as your hassle-free, educational, relaxed and fun way to see the sights, learn the history and experience the culture of the area. Whether you are a couple, a small family group, a few friends on a birthday trip, or a larger group visiting a convention from out of town, we are your specialist Philadelphia driving tour service.
toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“The Best Introduction to the City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We've tried Hop-On-Hop-Off buses in other cities in order to get a lay of the land but these have typically been disappointing. You usually have to fight to get a seat on the top level, the information is usually pretty standard, and you might have to wait for a while to grab another bus to get to your next destination. This was our first time with a personalized driving tour and we are now hooked! We asked for an off-the-beaten track tour for a full day and so were able to see many parts of Philadelphia that the average tourist would likely not see. What a liveable city it seems to be with some great neighbourhoods!

We had the great luck to have Chris as our tour guide. We will echo the many positive reviews he has on Tripadvisor - not only was he extremely knowledgeable but he was also funny and very personable. Our 18 year old was able to chat with him just as easily as we did, which says something about Chris' ability to connect to people. But most of all, he is a native Philadelphian who clearly loves his city. We couldn't help but be infected by that attitude.

We spent 5 days in Philadelphia and now dying to go back. We'd certainly recommend Awfully Nice Tours to anyone who wants to get a real feel for the city. It's worth the money!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Made history really come alive!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

High praise for our fabulous city tour of Philadelphia with guide Chris Nuncio. We had our two grandsons with us, ages 9 and 12, and Chris kept them interested throughout the entire tour. Chris displayed a robust knowledge of American revolutionary history and all things Philadelphia, including sports, which really earned high marks with the boys as did pizza and Philly cheese steak sandwiches at the Reading Market. Chris's presentation style was energetic, easy to follow, and he answered every question without hesitation and with genuine enthusiasm - really made us excited about history! If your travels take you to the "City of Brotherly Love," a tour with Chris is a must do!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“BEST TOUR EVER!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I along with our 11 yr. old grandson took a four hour driving/walking tour of Philadelphia. Our tour guide, Andy shared his extensive knowledge and experience with us. Andy was by far the best tour guide we have ever encountered. This tour is definetly worth the time and money. Very enjoyable for both adults and children. BEST TOUR AND TOUR GUIDE EVER !!!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, nj
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best tour anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The awfully nice name is an understatement. This tour was AWESOME! Hands down one of the best tours we have taken anywhere in the United States. The guide (Chris) was excellent and so knowledgable he was like a history book of Philly information. This is only the second time I have ever written a review on trip advisor, but I really felt I had to tell people how great this tour was. They took us to sites we didn't even know existed. What a great tour and what great people!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Wow - we learned and saw So Much !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Everyone at Awfully Nice Tours was so great & accommodating. Chris was a Fantastic guide!! Told him we wanted to focus on the history & I think he gave us an entire college course in Philadelphia/US history!! Plus, we saw some terrific art and special stops we hadn't even planned on. Was surprised at how much Philadelphia has to see - could have spent 3 days checking out all the museums, etc. Chris told us tons of Rocky information too. I actually ran (sorta) up the "Rocky steps" :) Chris was great about customizing the tour and going the extra mile for us ;) We only had one day to tour Philly & wanted something personalized & just for the two of us. It was totally worth the Half Day price to get what we wanted. Our heads were swimming & minds blown by the end because of all the amazing info Chris gave us. An Excellent company & experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awfully Nice Tours also viewed

 

Been to Awfully Nice Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awfully Nice Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Awfully Nice Tours to your Saves list