We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun & educational... even if you know the city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DeTours Urban Excursions

DeTours Urban Excursions
22 North 3rd Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
267-324-5408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 122 Activities in Philadelphia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best Segway Tours of Philadelphia
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fun & educational... even if you know the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I've done Segway tours in Chicago & Salem, MA, but my father's always wanted to try one. So I bought 2 tours through Living Social and we had a blast! Our guide, Mike, was great from beginning to end too. Even though we live just 5 miles over the bridge in NJ, and have spent endless hours walking & exploring Philly, we both still learned some things too... which was great. We can't wait to book another tour. Possibly the longer 3 hr excursion, or even when they open their indoor course!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    8
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A lot of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We are difficult to please New Yorkers who have been out on many Segway tours in the past. This was easily one of the best. We took the hour and a half tour as we were fearful the 3 hour trip might be too long. The time frame was just right. Our guide memorized everyone's names right away, was extremely entertaining, knowledgeable, and just plain fun. We had a very good time and learned a few things along the way. I would highly recommend them

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great way to see the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We had an incredible experience on our Segway tour through Philly. Our tour guide Mike made the experience both educational, fun and humorous! Even though you think you think you know a city, experiencing it on a Segway shows it in a whole new light!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very bad experience with rigid policy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

i recently booked a livingsocial coupon with DeTours and just a day before suffered from a severe back-pain. As i was not able to make it the next day- i called DeTours to get my tour re-sceduled. BUT they refused, the person on the phone said politely -"even if there is a death in the family, you lose your money if it is less than 3 days before the tour". I was even ready to pay the re-scheduling fees- but they refused. i would say - kind of big negative experience i had in a long time.
Summary- you have to be careful while booking with them.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminata06, Owner at DeTours Urban Excursions, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
It's always sad to hear someone had a bad experience with my company. I have reviewed your case with the staff. I hope your medical issue has been resolved and sorry to hear you suffered to begin with.

It is our understanding you have received a full refund from Living Social.

We do have a strict policy it is clearly stated on our website and reiterated in the email confirmation each reservation receives. Our policy is within industry standards and necessary to protect DeTours from individuals who falsify illness, injury or family crisis. It is a sad fact that someone would lie about these things.

The staff offered you a 20% discount on any future booking and that offer still stands if you would every choose to take advantage of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awsome segway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We enjoyed our 90-min segway tour even more than we expected. It was easy and fun, and our guide, Mike, couldn't have been better. Will be looking into the cheesesteak segway tour next. This is a "must-do".

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeTours Urban Excursions also viewed

 

Been to DeTours Urban Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DeTours Urban Excursions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.