We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Square 1682

Square 1682
121 S 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103
(215) 563-5008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Square 1682 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #154 of 3,780 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 17th & Sansom Streets
Transit: We are convenient to all SEPTA bus & regional rail lines! Closest train station is Suburban Station (34 N. 16th Street & J.F.K. Boulevard). You will head west on John F. Kennedy Blvd toward North 17th Street, then turn left onto North 17th Street.
Description: The epitome of Philadelphian cool awaits you inside Square 1682, where contemporary design, chic urban ecology, and delectable dining, meets bright, bold, and creative takes on Modern American cuisine and cocktails. Adjacent to Hotel Palomar Philadelphia in the charismatic Center City neighborhood of Rittenhouse Square, Square 1682-in Kimpton fashion, has distinguished itself from the areas surrounding restaurants through presence, exceptional service, fine cuisine, and as Philadelphia's first LEED-certified green eatery and bar. Inside, you'll discover the lively exhibition kitchen where Executive Caitlin Mateo beings only the best of local and sustainable sourced ingredients together for masterfully created meals all day long. Using her culinary lens of American cuisine with world influences, the aroma of Mateo's cuisine immerses the senses the moment you walk in.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We ate breakfast and lunch at Square 1682. The presentation, service and food were all excellent! The wait staff is attentive and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew R, General Manager at Square 1682, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Andrea W!
Thank you, so much, for the kind comments. We love what we do and are happy to see that you enjoyed your time here. Hopefully you can say hi next time you're in Philly so we can thank you in person!

Warm Regards,
Matt Rafferty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    67
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Connected to Hotel Palomar. Very good breakfast. Try the breakfast sandwich. Serves great drinks at night.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew R, General Manager at Square 1682, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hello Ouryeguy!
Glad we started you off on the right foot during breakfast! The sandwich is definitely a keeper- we go through George Perrier's Art Of Bread for all our breakfast pastries and the croissants are especially tasty. Hopefully we get to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were in Philadelphia for a quick overnight and we found Square 1682 via an OpenTable search. It is a "small" place and the bar and seating area is all together. Although we were concerned about the noise level -- it turned out to be a non-issue. Watching the chefs work in the open kitchen was an added plus to the evening. We both ordered seafood (Tuna and Halabut) and loved it. The fish was perfectly prepared. One minor issue was the limited wine list, but we were able to find a wine we both enjoyed. The desserts were also very good. We will go back on our next trip to Philadelphia.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew R, General Manager at Square 1682, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi CrewParent!
We're so glad you enjoyed the experience and seafood here! And I'm glad the noise level worked out well! We were sad to see the part about the wine list- we offer our wines by the glass on the back of the dinner menus, and do have a separate two-sided wine by the bottle list. I'm sorry that it potentially disappointed- but- we have incredible partnerships with our vendors and would love to accomodate anything you're in the mood for during your next visit. Feel free to email me at matthew.rafferty@square1682.com or call (215) 525-9501 and we can further enhance your dining experience!

In Service,
Matt Rafferty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

David was my guide for dinner. I followed every suggestion, including changing my wine choice--perfect 14 Hands Merlot. Then Philly's own pork trotters, I kept cutting them into smaller portions to savor each bite. Duck breast or salmon? Duck breast recommended--unreal! The chefs deserve all the praise you can give them, particularly when they just randomly drop by to see how you're doing. But my thanks, goes especially to David who was the conduit between them and me.

Perhaps Square 1682 can do something better than it currently does, but I'm in the I'm not sure what that can be category.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew R, General Manager at Square 1682, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Craig R,
What a pleasure to read! The whole experience should be what you described- our staff as "guides" so you can "ride all the rides"!! It was awesome to see what a great experience you had. PLEASE come visit again- next time I'd like to say hi and treat you to some Truffle Popcorn! Don't hesitate to get in touch at (215) 525-9501. Cheers and thank you, again!

Warm Regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Right next to the Kimpton, and across the street from the Sofitel, a really amazing and very affordable cafe. I had breakfast but the lunch also seemed promising. Very attentive service at breakfast, which is always nice as one is so often in a hurry. I'm going back for more!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew R, General Manager at Square 1682, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear BuffCrone,
I agree- breakfast has to be warm, attentive, and FAST! I'm glad we were able to exceed expectations during your visit. We love doing that :) Stop in and see us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square 1682 also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Square 1682? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Square 1682, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.