We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Chocolate Tours

Philadelphia Chocolate Tours
Reading Terminal Market, 12th Street and Filbert, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)
215-833-0044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 79 activities in Philadelphia
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We provide public and private guided walking and tasting tours of unique Philadelphia chocolate shops and cafes. Savor America's favorite flavor while walking off the calories!
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Chocolate yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a living social deal so I am not sure if I would pay full price for this or not. The day started off snowy and turned into a wintry mix and rainy day so it made the walking cold and wet. We started off at Reading Market where we tasted some cookies. We then moved on to two chocolate shops where we tasted some dark chocolate bark and champagne truffles. We then went to the Saturday farmers market were we tried a bunch of different chocolate of John& Kira's chocolate. We then moved on to a Hummus place that has chocolate hummus. The tour ended at a Gelato shop where we tried four kinds of gelato. Lots of the places gave discounts but would recommend bring a bag if you think you will buy anything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaylene C, Marketing Coordinator at Philadelphia Chocolate Tours, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello! I am glad you were able to experience lots of “chocolate yummy” treats with us! Thanks for sharing your feedback! ~Jaylene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    7
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Fun tour, but not worth $40”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We got a Living Social deal, and this cost $20. Had it cost $40 I would not have been happy. It was a fun way to spend an afternoon. We went to 5 different places, and the tour lasted a little over 2 hours. I would recommend giving it a try if a deal comes along. It started with a sales pitch of the Chocolate Tour company. I could've done without that and the biography of the owner, really.
We then went to 2 places in Reading Terminal, where we got a chocolate chip cookie at one place, and 2 little pieces of chocolate in the other. Then a chocolate place where we got a sample of bark, another chocolate company where we got a small champagne truffle, and finally a gelato place where we to sample several different gelato flavors.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaylene C, Marketing Coordinator at Philadelphia Chocolate Tours, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello! I am glad you were able to experience a fun afternoon with us! In the past, customers have asked us the company began, who started the company, and other questions related to our start, which is why we began including that in our script! Thank you for sharing your thoughts! ~Jaylene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Chocolate! What could be bad?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nothing could be bad. Informative, delicious, and very fun tour given by a delightful young lady, Melissa, who provided a wealth of knowledge about chocolate as we visited six (6) establishments to sample their wares....chocolate cookies, candy, ice cream, and brownies. Extremely yum!! Walking tour of about 2 1/2 hours with several places to rest while you sample.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaylene C, Marketing Coordinator at Philadelphia Chocolate Tours, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello! I am delighted to hear that you not only enjoyed the delicious chocolate, but that you also enjoyed the chocolate facts and history! Wishing you all the best in chocolate and life! ~Jaylene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon in Philly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had a very sweet tour guide named Jess who was a student at Temple. Very knowledgeable and very polite. We took in 5 chocolate shops and had delicious samples at each one. Also had an opportunity to shop a little at each and were offered a 10 percent discount. A very nice 2-3 hour experience. Walking required!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaylene C, Marketing Coordinator at Philadelphia Chocolate Tours, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello! Thank you for spending the day eating chocolate with us! We appreciate you sharing your feedback! ~Jaylene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not Impressive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I'm very, very glad that we had 50% off for this tour since I would never pay the full price for it. While our guide was enthusiastic, the actual tour itself was not too impressive. We started off by introducing ourselves, which is fine, but then the guide basically pitched the tour to us all over again. We had to look at a binder of their press clippings and reviews - I'm already on the tour, I don't need to see that.
I've been on many food tours in many cities, and I always find it's a great way to learn more about the food, but also the actual city. We really heard nothing about Philadelphia at all, which was so disappointing.
We tried a chocolate hummus at a farmers market but I was surprised there was nothing "different" as in the more exotic. I thought maybe a gourmet hot chocolate or something with chocolate that's surprising but nothing happened with that.
I also was really turned off when our guide let us know she accepts tips and can sell us gift certificates.
Basically, the tour has potential, but the self marketing within the tour was just too much.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaylene C, Marketing Coordinator at Philadelphia Chocolate Tours, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello! In the past, customers have asked us questions about how our tours began and who started them so we began including this information in our introduction. We also value historical facts about the city in which we are sampling all of the delicious chocolate, which is why we include facts about Reading Terminal Market, Milton Hershey, chocolate production in Pennsylvania, City Hall, and more! Previously we have had many of our customers ask our guides, or Choc Stars as well call them, if they were allowed to give them tips (some companies do not allow this!) so we make sure to include that bit of information so that our customers feel comfortable whether they decide to give a tip or not. We have also found that some of our guests enjoy the tour so much that they immediately want to share the experience with their friends, thus we have our guides carry gift certificates as a convenience for our customers. Thank you for sharing your thoughts! We always appreciate feedback! ~Jaylene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philadelphia Chocolate Tours also viewed

 

Been to Philadelphia Chocolate Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Chocolate Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Philadelphia Chocolate Tours to your Saves list