We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the burger better than the Philly cheesesteak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garces Trading Company

Garces Trading Company
1111 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5890
215-574-1099
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Garces Trading Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #231 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: European, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Locust & Quince
Description: Garces Trading Company is a gourmet market/cafe with a European flair. Perfect for a quick in-and-out or a casual sit down meal. This multi-purpose space features a host of house made and imported foods under the Garces Trading Company label including olive oils and vinegars, charcuterie and Chef Garces’ signature coffee House Specialties Paella Valenciana, El Cubano Clásico, Charcuterie & Cheese, Coq au Vin, Carbonated cocktails, fresh fruit sangrias and an extensive European wine list.
Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Liked the burger better than the Philly cheesesteak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Had lunch here recently. Busy, noisy but good service and food was good. The Philly cheesesteak was spiced a little unexpectedly, would have enjoyed it more if it were just straight ahead cheesesteak. Bloody Mary was good, with delicious pickled pepper garnishes that the server grabbed more of when I said how much I liked them! Thanks! Fabulous burger - my husband ended up giving me his burger and finishing my steak. Overall a good experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    59
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My fiance and I ate here for her birthday celebration a couple weekends ago. We arrived early and were immediately seated and waited on. The service was friendly and for the most part timely. The food was delicious and affordable for its quality. Really, the only issue I had with the establishment is the restroom. As in one. For both genders. Located outside the kitchen door which is a high traffic area. There was always a line to go in. A restaurant of this caliber and name recognition should not have this issue.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good menu selection in a cool environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on the way to Walnut Street Theater, it's close enough to walk and surprisingly easy to get a reservation on a Saturday night. The restaurant has a cool feel with subway tile, high ceilings and windows, hardwood floors...very open but comfortable and easy to have a conversation without being drowned out by loud music. Happy to see a couple unique German beers on draft and loved the cheese plates available as appetizers. Chose a second course of pasta, the Rigitoni with meatballs. Delicious sauce with shredded meat and the meatballs were awesome (they serve meatball specials at the bar which I'm going back to try). The speciality is Steak Frites, a little bit of a let down...the sauce was delicious but the steak was a little too rare for my medium rare order and the fries were somewhat heavy with oil, however the salad that accompanies it had a fantastic oil dressing. The goat fat pizza dough was over the top good and the desserts were a refreshing selection compared to other restaurants. This will be my new choice for dining near Walnut Street Theater and I can't wait to try their speciality meatballs. If you want a good selection of options, this is the place. Everything from pizza to bouillabaisse in a nice setting.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very friendly environment, nice menu, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were having a luncheon reunion of a group that hadn't been together in 25 years, and we had a great meal, great service, and the group ended up staying for nearly 4 hours. The restaurant was great. No pressure to leave. Very nice. Good hospitality. Impressive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Place! Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We went to this place spontaneously after seeing some good reviews on Trip Advisor and we're so glad we did! Very cool atmosphere right from the start. If there happens to be a wait, you can taste some olive oils and shop for wine. We happened to see some recommendations to order the house-made mozzarella (something we typically wouldn't order but we went with it) and it was OUT OF THIS WORLD. If you go there for nothing else, make sure you order this mozzarella!

We both ordered a few other items and they didn't disappoint either. The place/food has a European feel but still very welcoming and lots of healthy options too. Definitely recommend this spot for anyone looking for delicious food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garces Trading Company also viewed

 

Been to Garces Trading Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garces Trading Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.