We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you are desperate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Philadelphia City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Philadelphia City Center to your Saves list
Ramada Philadelphia City Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2033 Penrose Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19145 (Formerly Skyview Plaza Hotel & Suitesre) (South Philadelphia)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #71 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Garland, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Only if you are desperate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

First, their shuttle from the airport stunk to high heaven and it was filthy! When I arrived you could tell it was old and not well kept. The receptionist was nice but no restaurant except Wed- Sat. Hallways and elevator were old and dirty. The room was nicer but old carpet with large burn marks. Only 2 ice makers for 14 floors!!! A/C worked. I might stay there again if I was by myself and in a pinch, but otherwise NO!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    72
    93
    78
    178
See reviews for
80
91
52
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised about the overall condition of this hotel. The room was very large and fairly modern. My expectations were not incredibly high, so I was actually quite pleased with how the hotel turned out. While located in southern Philadelphia, the cities main attractions could easily be reached via public transport and or taxi conveniently located near this hotel. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to people who are like me, only visiting for a short period of time, and will not be spending the vast majority of their time in the actual hotel.Special thanks to Julian who works at this hotel for being extremely helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Well , we stayed for a night ( 7/8/13 ) to go watch the Phillies against the nationals , is clean , decent , and very important close to the sports complex like 20-25 minutes walking , a nice restaurant (breakfast , lunch and dinner ) just across the street , if your intention is to spend a night or two in Philadelphia to go watch sports this hotel is an excellent option, there's an nice and huge sport bar named chickie's & pete's cafe just 10 minutes from the hotel on the way to the sport complex , good service , lot of food and drinks and don't miss the crab fries .

Room Tip: 16 floors , pick one from the 4th down if possible .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanover township, pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Well worn but clean. We drive 2.5 hrs, check in, go to a Phillies game, come back to the room, have wine with tv, go to sleep, get up and have breakfast at the great Penrose Diner across the street. Our stay was $148.00 less than the Holiday Inn right down the street. For 1 night and the proximity to the Sports Complex we are well pleased.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Sports Complex, some of the refinery. Opt for the Sports Complex if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a very nice stay in this hotel, was a very good deal, for the price. I recommend, the hotel ais closed to several restaurants, shopping center, and 15 minutes to downtown Philadelphia. The people are friendly. The room was good and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed with my dad over nite, pleasant, working shower,toilet and sink and great a/c.
Cons..ice machine on 5. & 15 h floor. Slight musty odor
Recently painted walls/ ceiling.
Much netter stay then I had expected.
Breakfast is what it was toast cereal , juice coffee
Front desk is backed up but the sweet girl was nice and patient with all questions being thrown at her such as what is the pass word for the free wifi?
Over all it was cheap and available when I needed a hotel when the convention was in town and charging 3 to 4 times more due to the demand, glad skyview did
Not take advantage of the price hikes that particular weekday like all other in town hotels did.

Room Tip: Stick to the low floors, convenient due to the sloe elevator.stairs are quicker and accesable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Location saves this place from most bad reviews. feels and looks old. Cant check in early must wait till at least 3pm.(I arrived at 1pm ) If you book on a discounted site you cannot cancel (step in to the web said the spider) morning free breakfast was bad coffee, 2 loaves of white bread (little jellies for toast) packs of corn muffins thawing out from the freezer(still cold to the touch) 2 jars of corn flakes frosted mini wheats and a gallon of milk floating on ice.They should just give you a 5 dollar voucher for the diner across from the place , less embarrising and better for both businesses to work together!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Philadelphia City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Philadelphia City Center

Address: 2033 Penrose Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19145 (Formerly Skyview Plaza Hotel & Suitesre)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > South Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Philadelphia City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada City Center is ideally located in the heart of Suburban South Philadelphia. We are just minutes from Center City Philadelphia, where you can find nightlife, shopping, casual and formal dining in some of the most famous restaurants in the world, Penn’s Landing, The Historical District and our widely acclaimed “South Street”. For a change of pace, we put together some “helpful hints” for you while you are here in Philadelphia. We hope our suggestions are of interest to you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Philadelphia City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyview Plaza Hotel Philadelphia
Skyview Plaza Hotel And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Philadelphia City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.