We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brauhaus Schmitz

Brauhaus Schmitz
718 South St, Philadelphia, PA 19147 (City Center East)
267-909-8814
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brauhaus Schmitz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Center East
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

This place is what it seem to be. It is a very well decorated beer house. If you like beer, you would like this place

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    48
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“German Beer Hall Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Went here with a large group from work. We had a table in the back and did the family meal with the beer flights. Was really well done. The GM talked about beer for about 45 minutes while we all tasted and enjoyed the beer. Very informative and interesting. The beer is excellent. The food came in steady waves, much more than we could eat. The whole experience was something out of Germany that everyone should try, and you don't need to travel to do it.

A very nice night. Have to get back for their Octoberfest.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brauhaus Schmitz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

The Brauhaus in Philadelphia is as close to an authentic German beer hall as you can find in the US. They have an amazing neo German menu and their beer selection is unrivaled. The staff is very friendly and extremely knowlegable about the beers they serve. A top selection for any fan of German beer and food.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Their Wurst is the BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I totally skipped out on work and met up with an Army buddy of mine (Mike) for dinner. We were stationed in Germany together 22 years ago, and decided that German food would be the way to go, as we hadn't seen each other since then.
You WIL NOT be disappointed! Legit, real-deal German food unlike I've ever had here in the states! I had the Wurst Brett, and I couldn't even finish it - and I can put away some serious chow! All sausages (wursts) were made in-house, except for one, which was from a local vendor. All were amazing! The Spatzle was smooth, rich and buttery. They served it wih curry ketchup (a staple for any service personell stationed in Germany) which made it all the more authentic. We split a soft pretzel that came with two different types of mustard - again all authentic. Mike had the Wiener Art (funny name, I know, but I promise it's no hot dog) and he killed it and loved every bit of it as well. Plenty of good German beers on tap, naturally. All-in-all an experience I will absolutely be having again soon!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quite disappointed. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

I visited Brauhaus Schmitz last weekend during a visit from Colorado to Philly. After returning from a trip to Germany in September I was looking forward to a wonderful German meal. Unfortunately this meal didn't hit the mark. The Rahmschwammerl was in a sauce that was so rich it was difficult to get through the dish....and much of it was left uneaten. And the wurst platte (which 4 of us ordered) was good but the meals came from the kitchen nearly cold. Only the potato pancakes, ordered with the wurst platters, were hot. We told our server about the cold food and the manager did bring us warm wursts ... which was considerate, but did not make up for the earlier cold meal. The service was good, the manager was professional, but the food was overall quite disappointing. Based on the other reviews here, I hope my experience was just the result of an off night for the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brauhaus Schmitz also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Brauhaus Schmitz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brauhaus Schmitz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.